We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parts felt run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Parts felt run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Maybe this place is very seasonal but it lacked a feeling of maintenance. The sign out front that said "late arrivals discounts" made us feel we had been ripped off for booking in advance. The air conditioning in hallways was turned off making it oppressive. Gardens had weeds and lacked that cared for look. Breakfast was fairly basic and staff too busy to talk to us on checkout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to post a review about us. I hope that you did find your room to be comfortable although you found our grounds to be less than you expected. We do appreciate all our reviews as we see them as opportunities to improve.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    230
    196
    53
    38
See reviews for
217
273
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Comfort Inn here is your average hotel...yes, it is a little aged but you can't beat the location from the entrance to Sequoia National Park.

We had a room in the auxilliary building next to the main hotel and found it to be quiet. Furnishings are a little dated but the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub by the pool and it could use a little work on the airation system. Used the hotel laundry and did recommend to the staff that they need to get some better dryers then what they currently have.

It is a good value for the price but nothing special. We ate that the Gateway Restaurant located just outside of the entrance to Sequoia National Park - my opinion...skip that and get some pizza fromt he restaurant across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest..

Thank you for your kind review... I am so pleased that you got the rest you needed and found our beds comfortable. We have taken your recommendation to heart and replaced a motor in one of the dryers... thank you for letting us know.

If you are ever in our little part of the world again please allow us to be your place of comfort and safety.

Many Blessings

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

On a recent trip to Sequoia, my Dad, brother and I spent 2 nights at the Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The only complaints I have regarding Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon was that it took a long time for the room to cool down and that the "computer room" did not have a printer. Other than that, our experience was fantastic! The staff was very, and I mean, very helpful and friendly! The breakfast was very good and the coffee was spectacular! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest...

I pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us here in the beautiful Sierra Nevadas. I apologize for the room being so warm but Im sure that eventually the hot air was replaced with cooler more comfortable air. I hope that remainder of your journey was met with friendly and helpfuls staff as well as that is what all travelers deserve... We couldnt exist without you and it is our pleasure to help guide and direct you to things in this area.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As the new Mr & Mrs the wife and I decided to see some national parks on our honeymoon. We booked two nights here and noted on our reservation that we were on our honeymoon. The staff treated us like family and even upgraded our room to a suite at no extra cost. It was a wonderful gift. Breakfast was good and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Honeymooners,

I am so happy that you chose us to stay with on such and important time in you lives. Thank you for letting me know that my staff went the distance to make your time here both favored and comfortable. I hope that your lives together are healthy and happy and you think of us again when planning your anniversary or better yet.... a family vacation.

Many Blessings to you both...

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a very basic hotel, but probably one of the nicest in the area. It is about 20 minutes to the entrance of the national park, but then another hours drive up the mountain. It wasn't very welcoming, and definitely no chance of an early check in. The pool was dirty, but the view from the pool area was really nice. There are a few restaurants nearby that are good. We tried the pizza place and the mexican place. The room had everything we needed for a one night stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you coming and staying with us. I apologize for what can only be the gnats in the pool. Our pool skimmer does eliminate those throughout the day but some days are heavier than others. Its one of the less favorable aspects of being located in a wilderness area.

The southern entrance into the Sequoia National Park is just 7 miles from us here and the General Sherman is just another 19. Mountainous driving does add to the driving time but then thats to be expected when navigating such roads.

I hope that you where able to enjoy the parks for their beauty and all they had to offer.

Warm Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one night before going into Sequoia and it was alright, the staff were friendly and room was comfortable and clean. We thuoght we woulg take advantage of the swimming pool but it was covered in dead insects so we did'nt bother. Breakfast was the usual fare and there was plenty of it. Overall the place was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review... I apologize for the bugs as they are part of the environment up here in the Sierra Nevadas. We do skim the pool in the morning and then let the auto skimmer do the rest but again due to the area there is more of an abundance of insects here in the foothills than in the city.

Im happy that you found your room comfortable and accommodating and hope that if you are ever in our little corner of the mountains, you'll allow us to again be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a rather poor Comfort inn outside of Three Rivers. In our room the air conditioning didn't work so it was extremely hot. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The room was old, but maintained and seemed clean. There was wireless Internet but it was hard to connect to because it appeared the login page was no longer active, but I did get connected. We paid 140.00 for one room with a king and a pull out so it was rather expensive for the accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

This is the newest of properties here in Three Rivers yet was built in 2002. We do keep the property up and running which takes constant attention to accomodate the thousands of travelers that come through every year. I hope that you where able to enjoy your visit here to the Sequoia's and that someday you will return to allow us to make this a place of comfort and safety for you and your family.

Wifi is not high speed up here in the foothills and it does slow down when many guests are on at the same time and some Im sure are downloading movies etc that can take alot of bandwidth... But I am happy that you where able to eventually go online and do what you needed to do.

Many Blessings to you,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.