We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exceptional, but nothing awful either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional, but nothing awful either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a very basic hotel, but probably one of the nicest in the area. It is about 20 minutes to the entrance of the national park, but then another hours drive up the mountain. It wasn't very welcoming, and definitely no chance of an early check in. The pool was dirty, but the view from the pool area was really nice. There are a few restaurants nearby that are good. We tried the pizza place and the mexican place. The room had everything we needed for a one night stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you coming and staying with us. I apologize for what can only be the gnats in the pool. Our pool skimmer does eliminate those throughout the day but some days are heavier than others. Its one of the less favorable aspects of being located in a wilderness area.

The southern entrance into the Sequoia National Park is just 7 miles from us here and the General Sherman is just another 19. Mountainous driving does add to the driving time but then thats to be expected when navigating such roads.

I hope that you where able to enjoy the parks for their beauty and all they had to offer.

Warm Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    239
    198
    53
    38
See reviews for
219
280
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one night before going into Sequoia and it was alright, the staff were friendly and room was comfortable and clean. We thuoght we woulg take advantage of the swimming pool but it was covered in dead insects so we did'nt bother. Breakfast was the usual fare and there was plenty of it. Overall the place was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review... I apologize for the bugs as they are part of the environment up here in the Sierra Nevadas. We do skim the pool in the morning and then let the auto skimmer do the rest but again due to the area there is more of an abundance of insects here in the foothills than in the city.

Im happy that you found your room comfortable and accommodating and hope that if you are ever in our little corner of the mountains, you'll allow us to again be your place of comfort.

Many Blessings

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a rather poor Comfort inn outside of Three Rivers. In our room the air conditioning didn't work so it was extremely hot. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The room was old, but maintained and seemed clean. There was wireless Internet but it was hard to connect to because it appeared the login page was no longer active, but I did get connected. We paid 140.00 for one room with a king and a pull out so it was rather expensive for the accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

This is the newest of properties here in Three Rivers yet was built in 2002. We do keep the property up and running which takes constant attention to accomodate the thousands of travelers that come through every year. I hope that you where able to enjoy your visit here to the Sequoia's and that someday you will return to allow us to make this a place of comfort and safety for you and your family.

Wifi is not high speed up here in the foothills and it does slow down when many guests are on at the same time and some Im sure are downloading movies etc that can take alot of bandwidth... But I am happy that you where able to eventually go online and do what you needed to do.

Many Blessings to you,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, IN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is a great location,good price, but poor service and very rude. we arrived 1hour early told to come back at 4 no earlier,the whole time the manager was on the phone with someone trying to explain why there are so many bad reviews about service on trip advisor.ironic.we came back later to get are room keys went to are room the key did not work my daughter took it back down the the lobby and was told why did "you" demagnetized it,really we had it a whole 2 minutes get to the room everywhere you look there are signs about if you steal towels blankets TVs remotes drapes windows you will be charged and there is a price list on the wall by the bathroom, that's makes you feel welcome. Went down to breakfast the next morning we were 5 minutes early the lobby doors were locked the girl looks at us and says wait till 6:30.5 min early really. The hot tub was not hot,colder than bath water. There is no cell phone signal, the Internet was poor, seems they skimp on soap and shampoo, there were ants in the room when we arrived, The pool was nice the breakfast was nice once we got in, the staff needs a lesson in manners. Great location. We would stay again only if under new management. Hope this help travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for falling short during your stay with us. I live in Three Rivers and high speed internet is non existant here but we are hoping that this gets improved in time. When many people are using the network, it does slow down and become congested. There are times when potential guests do call to talk about the reviews and I do take the time to speak to them about them. All I ask as is they consider the ratio of good ones over the bad and that they give us the opportunity to qualify for a good review after they leave.

It is unfortunate that we must display such signs to forewarn those guests who would have a perpensity to steal from the property and if it wasnt our experience from time to time, we wouldn't have too. They are not meant for the honest but a warning to those who are not... please don't take it personal.

I apologize for your keys but cell phone do demagnatize them and I believe that this is what my staff was trying to figure out. It is in an effort to figure out what happened so that if it is our equipment we can address the issue before it affects another guest.

AT&T is the only cell tower here in Three Rivers and we do have roaming around on the property for Verizon subscribers. We do hope that in the future more cell services invest in this area.

I apologize for all your discomforts but do see every review as an opportunity to improve. I hope you and your family made it home safely.

Many Blessings to you,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place has nice clean rooms and a good morning breakfast (waffles, sausages, eggs, and the rest of the typical items a motel has to offer). There were a few things they could improve upon. The first was the wonky internet service. It was slow and sometimes didn't want to work at all. If you have to keep in contact with work (as we did)...you will find it hard to send email...both of our laptops were having trouble. The second problem was the attitude of the front desk...it didn't feel like they really cared about if you stayed there or not...when we asked for an extra towel or asked to get a broken desk chair replaced, they did it but they certainly didn't do it very nicely!

If you are going to stay here to visit Sequoia National Park, please realized that even though the hotel is a mere 20 or so miles away, it takes an hour or so to get there...one must drive up an winding mountain road to get to the park...the driving can be really slow due to the terrain and cautious drivers on a mountainous two lane highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to post a review and are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet that we put out for our guests. I apolgize for the slow internet... I live here in Three Rivers and high speed just isnt available. Of course when many guests are using the wifi that slows it down as well.

The southern entrance to the park is only 7 miles away from our location and we do rest in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, mountainous driving is to be expected. General Sherman is 26 mountain miles away and that does take an hour to climb to that altitude to see the Giant Sequouias. I hope you did appreciate them once you arrived there as they are spectacular.

I apologize for my staff if they made you feel anything but welcome and I will address this immediately. I do appreciate the 4 stars you gave us and hope that someday you can return and give us another opportunity to make your stay better.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want a hotel close to the south entrance to Sequoia then this is OK. There are two buildings. We stayed in what looked like the older building. The rooms were clean and everything worked except the door handle. The hotel was extremely busy but not loud. The laundry was small for such a busy place. One of the dryers didn't work well and took twice as long to dry. Kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast was well attended which was good since it was very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all you had to say and will address these issues that have not already been taken care of since your stay with us. I hope that you do return again in the future to give us another opportunity to give you a place of comfort during your travels.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Average hotel. Can charge more, because of location. Overall apperance of hotel was unkept. A/c worked well. Free breakfast was average- sausage, biscuits, pastries. Not a bad hotel, just middle of the road-could be so much nicer. The whole Three Rivers area was fairly unkept and run down, which was surprising because it is the literally at the southern entrance to the park. Would think they would go out of their way to promote tourism. Would only recommend this hotel, because of the location- it was way over priced for the ammentities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review as we look at every review as an opportunity to improve. I hope that your journey to your next destination was safe and that if you are ever in our little part of the world you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.