We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Brownsville, IN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is a great location,good price, but poor service and very rude. we arrived 1hour early told to come back at 4 no earlier,the whole time the manager was on the phone with someone trying to explain why there are so many bad reviews about service on trip advisor.ironic.we came back later to get are room keys went to are room the key did not work my daughter took it back down the the lobby and was told why did "you" demagnetized it,really we had it a whole 2 minutes get to the room everywhere you look there are signs about if you steal towels blankets TVs remotes drapes windows you will be charged and there is a price list on the wall by the bathroom, that's makes you feel welcome. Went down to breakfast the next morning we were 5 minutes early the lobby doors were locked the girl looks at us and says wait till 6:30.5 min early really. The hot tub was not hot,colder than bath water. There is no cell phone signal, the Internet was poor, seems they skimp on soap and shampoo, there were ants in the room when we arrived, The pool was nice the breakfast was nice once we got in, the staff needs a lesson in manners. Great location. We would stay again only if under new management. Hope this help travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for falling short during your stay with us. I live in Three Rivers and high speed internet is non existant here but we are hoping that this gets improved in time. When many people are using the network, it does slow down and become congested. There are times when potential guests do call to talk about the reviews and I do take the time to speak to them about them. All I ask as is they consider the ratio of good ones over the bad and that they give us the opportunity to qualify for a good review after they leave.

It is unfortunate that we must display such signs to forewarn those guests who would have a perpensity to steal from the property and if it wasnt our experience from time to time, we wouldn't have too. They are not meant for the honest but a warning to those who are not... please don't take it personal.

I apologize for your keys but cell phone do demagnatize them and I believe that this is what my staff was trying to figure out. It is in an effort to figure out what happened so that if it is our equipment we can address the issue before it affects another guest.

AT&T is the only cell tower here in Three Rivers and we do have roaming around on the property for Verizon subscribers. We do hope that in the future more cell services invest in this area.

I apologize for all your discomforts but do see every review as an opportunity to improve. I hope you and your family made it home safely.

Many Blessings to you,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    217
    181
    47
    32
See reviews for
197
254
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
426 reviews 426 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place has nice clean rooms and a good morning breakfast (waffles, sausages, eggs, and the rest of the typical items a motel has to offer). There were a few things they could improve upon. The first was the wonky internet service. It was slow and sometimes didn't want to work at all. If you have to keep in contact with work (as we did)...you will find it hard to send email...both of our laptops were having trouble. The second problem was the attitude of the front desk...it didn't feel like they really cared about if you stayed there or not...when we asked for an extra towel or asked to get a broken desk chair replaced, they did it but they certainly didn't do it very nicely!

If you are going to stay here to visit Sequoia National Park, please realized that even though the hotel is a mere 20 or so miles away, it takes an hour or so to get there...one must drive up an winding mountain road to get to the park...the driving can be really slow due to the terrain and cautious drivers on a mountainous two lane highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to post a review and are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet that we put out for our guests. I apolgize for the slow internet... I live here in Three Rivers and high speed just isnt available. Of course when many guests are using the wifi that slows it down as well.

The southern entrance to the park is only 7 miles away from our location and we do rest in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, mountainous driving is to be expected. General Sherman is 26 mountain miles away and that does take an hour to climb to that altitude to see the Giant Sequouias. I hope you did appreciate them once you arrived there as they are spectacular.

I apologize for my staff if they made you feel anything but welcome and I will address this immediately. I do appreciate the 4 stars you gave us and hope that someday you can return and give us another opportunity to make your stay better.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want a hotel close to the south entrance to Sequoia then this is OK. There are two buildings. We stayed in what looked like the older building. The rooms were clean and everything worked except the door handle. The hotel was extremely busy but not loud. The laundry was small for such a busy place. One of the dryers didn't work well and took twice as long to dry. Kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast was well attended which was good since it was very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all you had to say and will address these issues that have not already been taken care of since your stay with us. I hope that you do return again in the future to give us another opportunity to give you a place of comfort during your travels.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Average hotel. Can charge more, because of location. Overall apperance of hotel was unkept. A/c worked well. Free breakfast was average- sausage, biscuits, pastries. Not a bad hotel, just middle of the road-could be so much nicer. The whole Three Rivers area was fairly unkept and run down, which was surprising because it is the literally at the southern entrance to the park. Would think they would go out of their way to promote tourism. Would only recommend this hotel, because of the location- it was way over priced for the ammentities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review as we look at every review as an opportunity to improve. I hope that your journey to your next destination was safe and that if you are ever in our little part of the world you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Less than five miles from the Foothills Entrance to Sequoia National Park. Our room was spacious...two queen beds, fridge, microwave, Wi-Fi, and breakfast. Price was right, beds were comfortable, and a/c kept us cool. Markets nearby to pick up sandwiches and snacks for picnic lunches or hikes.

Room Tip: Room 148 was across from the laundry and at the end of the hall where there was an outside entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We appreciate your patronage and hope that the rest of your travels was met with the same level of comfort and amenities that you had with us. Many Blessings to you and your family and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had two rooms on this trip and the other room's aircondition wasn't working properly and the door handle was also not working properly. The water coming out of the shower wasn't strong enough.
Overall, I would say that the stay was not a good one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your less than satisfactory experience here at our property. We have however replace a few of the air conditioners that where giving us problems and have also addressed the few entry door mechanisms that have sucummbed to their enivironment. I again aplogize and hope that you did make it home safely.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are not a lot of hotels in Three Rivers but this one served its purpose. The place is nothing special, but it is very popular. The KIng Suite was comfortable and clean. The air conditioner struggled a bit, but to be fair there was record breaking heat while we were there. The laundry is small and the dryer took forever, but because we were traveling by motorcycle we appreciated it. There are a few places to eat, some close and some far (5 miles). Breakfast was standard fare but very crowded. The location is just outside Sequoia Park so that worked for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; as we appreciate each and everyone of them. I'm pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your time here and in the parks. I hope that you arrived to your final destination safely and that someday you can return to stay with us again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.