We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, only a few problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
428 reviews 428 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Nice room, only a few problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place has nice clean rooms and a good morning breakfast (waffles, sausages, eggs, and the rest of the typical items a motel has to offer). There were a few things they could improve upon. The first was the wonky internet service. It was slow and sometimes didn't want to work at all. If you have to keep in contact with work (as we did)...you will find it hard to send email...both of our laptops were having trouble. The second problem was the attitude of the front desk...it didn't feel like they really cared about if you stayed there or not...when we asked for an extra towel or asked to get a broken desk chair replaced, they did it but they certainly didn't do it very nicely!

If you are going to stay here to visit Sequoia National Park, please realized that even though the hotel is a mere 20 or so miles away, it takes an hour or so to get there...one must drive up an winding mountain road to get to the park...the driving can be really slow due to the terrain and cautious drivers on a mountainous two lane highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to post a review and are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet that we put out for our guests. I apolgize for the slow internet... I live here in Three Rivers and high speed just isnt available. Of course when many guests are using the wifi that slows it down as well.

The southern entrance to the park is only 7 miles away from our location and we do rest in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, mountainous driving is to be expected. General Sherman is 26 mountain miles away and that does take an hour to climb to that altitude to see the Giant Sequouias. I hope you did appreciate them once you arrived there as they are spectacular.

I apologize for my staff if they made you feel anything but welcome and I will address this immediately. I do appreciate the 4 stars you gave us and hope that someday you can return and give us another opportunity to make your stay better.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    220
    186
    49
    33
See reviews for
203
259
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want a hotel close to the south entrance to Sequoia then this is OK. There are two buildings. We stayed in what looked like the older building. The rooms were clean and everything worked except the door handle. The hotel was extremely busy but not loud. The laundry was small for such a busy place. One of the dryers didn't work well and took twice as long to dry. Kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast was well attended which was good since it was very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all you had to say and will address these issues that have not already been taken care of since your stay with us. I hope that you do return again in the future to give us another opportunity to give you a place of comfort during your travels.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Average hotel. Can charge more, because of location. Overall apperance of hotel was unkept. A/c worked well. Free breakfast was average- sausage, biscuits, pastries. Not a bad hotel, just middle of the road-could be so much nicer. The whole Three Rivers area was fairly unkept and run down, which was surprising because it is the literally at the southern entrance to the park. Would think they would go out of their way to promote tourism. Would only recommend this hotel, because of the location- it was way over priced for the ammentities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review as we look at every review as an opportunity to improve. I hope that your journey to your next destination was safe and that if you are ever in our little part of the world you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Less than five miles from the Foothills Entrance to Sequoia National Park. Our room was spacious...two queen beds, fridge, microwave, Wi-Fi, and breakfast. Price was right, beds were comfortable, and a/c kept us cool. Markets nearby to pick up sandwiches and snacks for picnic lunches or hikes.

Room Tip: Room 148 was across from the laundry and at the end of the hall where there was an outside entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We appreciate your patronage and hope that the rest of your travels was met with the same level of comfort and amenities that you had with us. Many Blessings to you and your family and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had two rooms on this trip and the other room's aircondition wasn't working properly and the door handle was also not working properly. The water coming out of the shower wasn't strong enough.
Overall, I would say that the stay was not a good one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your less than satisfactory experience here at our property. We have however replace a few of the air conditioners that where giving us problems and have also addressed the few entry door mechanisms that have sucummbed to their enivironment. I again aplogize and hope that you did make it home safely.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are not a lot of hotels in Three Rivers but this one served its purpose. The place is nothing special, but it is very popular. The KIng Suite was comfortable and clean. The air conditioner struggled a bit, but to be fair there was record breaking heat while we were there. The laundry is small and the dryer took forever, but because we were traveling by motorcycle we appreciated it. There are a few places to eat, some close and some far (5 miles). Breakfast was standard fare but very crowded. The location is just outside Sequoia Park so that worked for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; as we appreciate each and everyone of them. I'm pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your time here and in the parks. I hope that you arrived to your final destination safely and that someday you can return to stay with us again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is across the road from general store, pizza, and mexican restaurant, not far from Sequoia Park entrance and just few miles from beginning of Mineral Kings road. Add a better breakfast to these and it would make this place a perfect base camp for exploring of South and East parts of Sequoia National Park. Service was excellent, room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest...

Thank you for you positive review. We are so pleased that you chose us to meet your needs both with our amenities and location. We hope that you return in the future to stay with us again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.