We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice if you don't want to camp in the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great choice if you don't want to camp in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

stayed two nights for our visit to the national park. it was really easy to find, there's no way to miss it. We arrived probably around 2:30pm. We were put on the 2nd floor, but then I told them that we had a dog with us so they moved us to the 1st floor (which was fine with me). I was hoping to check in earlier (check in is at 4pm), but since we had to change to a dog friendly room we had to wait until the actual check in time. The room was a good size and pretty clean. We didn't have any major issues and everything worked the way it should. It does look like it does need a little bit more TLC, but for a short stay it was perfectly fine. We got free Wi-Fi which worked great. It was actually pretty fast. We also got free breakfast during out stay which is great when you are going to be out and about the whole day. You could make your own waffles and that was my favorite! Really yummy waffles. The hotel is also close to a little village market and two restaurants; a mexican and pizza place. The hotel is pretty close to the entrance to Sequoia; probably about 6 miles. But once you get into the park it takes about another 20 mins to finally enter into the giant forest/general Sherman tree area.

Overall, I was satisfied and would stay here again if we were to visit the national parks for a short period of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do welcome pets here and do have designated rooms for our 4 legged family members as other guests do have severe enough allergies that even the littlest bit of dander can cause life threatening reactions. I apologize for the wait but I'm glad to hear your room met your needs and expectations. Please come back and visit us again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    258
    206
    54
    40
See reviews for
233
297
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just got back from a trip to CA. We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn at Three Rivers. We had stayed at a couple of other Comfort Inns around CA and had decided we didn't particularly care for the hotel chain but, since we had these reservations, we'd go ahead and stay there. This was a great place! The desk clerks were all very friendly and gave excellent advice on places to visit and eat. The hotel was clean, well kept, and easy to find. Beds were comfortable and the shower was good. The breakfast was plentiful and hot (eggs, sausage, etc.). We did not try the waffles but there were a lot of people there that seemed to enjoy them. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us. I'm very pleased that you did find our franchise all that you wanted it to be. If you are ever here in our little part of California, please allow us to give you a place of comfort and safety.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

stayed 2 days for our visit to sequoia. only 20 min from the national park. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly & helpful. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Only complaint was that the pool was very dirty and was not heated, plus the Jacuzzi was not working too. Other wise loved the property. Would refer it anyone & will return in future if in that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.... We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and the National Parks. I don't know what date you where here but the pool and jacuzzi was just opened to the public again in mid April. We do not heat the swimming pool as our warm weather does an efficient job of that and Im happy to say we have replaced the frozen pump on the jacuzzi and it is up and working beautifully.

I hope that the remainder of your trip was safe and happy. Please consider us again whenever you are in our little corner of California.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 4-25-13 This was a very nice room.
Our room was in the newer building there are 2 and one is the older 2 story outside access entry rooms. The other has 3 floors and an elevator all inside.
Breakfeast was not a grand experiance. But it was good enough to get your day started. Scrambled eggs, link sausage, and waffles were the basic hot items, with your basic continental breakfeast.
Resuraunts in the area were slim.
No Cell phone service in the area so expect to use a land line for all calls (No biggie)

My only complaint was that the shower curtin was to short, so when you turned on the shower it wanted to blow out of the tub (it had no weights in it, so i would soak it on the bottom to make it cling to the tub. When i brought it to managements attention they assured me it would be fixed before the next guest used it)

For visiting Sequoia it is perfect, though the long drive back to it from Sequoia, Kings Canyon area makes it a good ending point rather than starting point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I did have my housekeeping replace the short shower curtain and I do appreciate that you brought it to my attention. I have had my staff replace that and its good to go. I hope that you made it to your next destination safely and that we will see you again someday.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our room was uncomfortaby not clean. There was also an ant problem.. other than that it would have been very nice! Manager Shelly said she would call for a deep clean..but otherwise wasnt concerned....I on rhe other hand would not stay again due to the reaction.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I do remember you on the day you where checking out and you came to the front desk to let me know that your room had an ant problem and also that there was 'olive pits' on the floor. I did say that I would have that room deep cleaned and I turned to my Head Housekeeper and asked her to go immediately to your room to inspect it. With that you said Thank You and you left without waiting for the inspection of the situation.

My housekeeper reported back to me within 5 minutes that upon entering the room she found open soda cans, food wrappers and the small trash can beeming with food wrappers. This could have been the source of the problem. She found no evidence of the "olive pits" though and I see that you don't mention them here in your review. You never did return to the front desk to find out what if anything I would do to compensate you.

I hope that you arrived home safely and that you enjoyed our National Parks while you where here.

Most Respectfully,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It is the nicest hotel in the area but as a frequent traveler this place is far from nice. Arrived an hour and half before check in... they would not allow early check in. Went to see the big sequoias which were beautiful. Sheets feel like sandpaper... no water pressure, pool closes with a padlock promptly at nine on weekends. No mini fridge, no microwave and you are lucky if you get a neighbor who is quiet (every squeek and sound can be heard in the building). The locals are the nicest people ever but the staff doesn't seem genuine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for you having to wait to check in as the room type that you reserved is the most popular and they just hadn't been inspected yet to insure the room met our standards before allowing a new guest to check into it. As with any hotel there are standards that we perfer to keep such as the pool hours. As pool pumps are extremely noisey and there are guest rooms above that area we have taken on the policy that 9pm is fair to everyone. However, if you had asked for the pool to be left open for another half hour we would have gladley accommodated you as we want everyone to experience our amenities and for it to be a pleasant experience at that.

Also we do have rooms with and without a microwave and refrigerator as we do try to fit everyones budget and needs. We do strive to make everyones time here pleasant and comfortable and I'm sorry that this was not the case for you. I hope you arrived home safely and that you enjoyed our National Parks.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst visiting the giant forest at sequoia national park. It's a basic motel but perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Rooms are dated but a decent size and clean. Wifi works well and decent choice of cable tv. About 20 mins drive from the park entrance. Pizza restaurant and grocery store a few mins walk across the street. Nice free breakfast. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to post such a kind review about your stay with us. We do strive to go the extra distance when ever we can and we are pleased that your needs where met by our staff. We hope that if you are ever in our area again, you will allow us to be your place of comfort and safety.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.