We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Near the Parks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value Near the Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay that would be very close to Sequoia and King's Canyon National Parks, and the Comfort Inn met our needs fully. The rooms were large, comfortable, and well-maintained. The parking lot is large, and the access to the rooms was easy with our luggage. The breakfast was offered plenty to eat and was tasty, although the breakfast room is a not big enough for the summer crowds. The drive to the park entrance was short, which meant that we could devote a full day to seeing the parks. This was a big plus. And the comfortable room and bed meant that after a long day of walking and driving all over the parks, we could relax and sleep well. There are also a couple of grocery stores nearby, which was good for us. There is a pool that we did not take advantage of because we left early in the morning before it opened and returned at night as it was about to close. But the pool looked pleasant and could be a plus for a family with young children. We were travelling with adult children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you found your stay with us everything you had hoped for and expected from a Choice Property. I appreciate the time you took articulating your experience as it means we are doing things right. I hope that the rest of your journey was met with safety and blessings along the way.

Have a wonderful New Year and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Many Blessings,
Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    291
    236
    58
    47
See reviews for
259
345
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gwent South Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A typical American motel. Really liked it here. Not much around but a really quiet and tranquil place. Nice breakfast, quite a large selection including waffles, muffins, cereals etc. went to a nearby cider restaurant for dinner which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I happy that you described the essence of Three Rivers, Tranquill and quiet. I'm pleased also that you enjoyed your breakfast and the local restaurant. I hope that the remainder of your journey is safe and you find equally satisfying accommodations along the way.

Happy New Year

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice location for both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National park (about 6 miles away from the entrance). The room they gave us was spacious and clean with a large LCD TV. The complimentary breakfast was typical with hot waffles, scramble eggs and fresh fruits and many other choices. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi was very nice but a bit crowded with European and Korean tourists. We visited both national parks in the same day with a wonderful suggestion of the ranger at the visitor center. General Sherman Tree at Sequoia National Park, The largest tree in the world is worth visiting along with the second largest- General Grant Tree at Kings Canyon National Park. We enjoyed both parks very much and didn't feel too tired visiting 2 parks in one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on our behalf. I must say I'm flattered that you posted a review in January when you stayed with us in September. I will assume it's due to the lasting impression we left you with. I'm so pleased you did come and stay with us and that you found the property to your satisfaction. Also pleased that you got to explore both National Parks during your time here. I hope that if you are ever in our corner of the world again, you will allow us to be your place of comfort and safety.

Happy New Year

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great stay here on our way to Sequoia. Close (short walk) to a couple of food places and a short drive to the park entrance. Romm was very comfortable. The pictures advertising the breakfast make it look better than it was but apart from that a very clean friendly hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to post a review. I'm happy that you found the rooms to be spacious and clean. I apologize that you found the breakfast to be less than expected but I do hope you found something that got your day off to a good start. We hope that you arrived home safely and if ever back in our area, you choose us again for your comforts.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn in Three Rivers as we had business in the area. The room was quiet and spacious. The room temperature was easy to adjust. The appointments were comensurate with the hotel nightly rate. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you Dear Guest for posting a review. Your comfort is our priority and Im so happy that we met your expectations. Please do visit us again whenever in our little part of the world.

Happy New Year

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night to go to see the redwoods. The hotel is very quiet and clean. The staff is wonderful. They were so helpful. I would stay here again and recommend it. Great value for the cleanliness

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; we are so pleased that you found your room quiet, clean and affordable. We look forward to serving you again if you are ever back in this area and hope also that your New Year is the best ever.

Thanks again..

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I asked for their best suite with jacuzzi and i got the worst possible nite i ever shared with wife. Heater didnt work, bed was worse then floor, fireplace didnt work, and smoke alarm chirped all the time. We left at midnight to get that place behind us. I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Stepp,

I'm so surprised to see a review posted by you on Sunday since I said I would contact you when I could have my maintenance check the equipment in the room on Monday. I spoke with my Front Desk that received your phone call the morning you left and he said your only complaint was the bed being too hard. When I spoke to you that same day you included that the heater and fireplace didn't work and now in this review you include the smoke alarm.

But since we are here now I can let you know that both the heater and the fireplace are in perfect working order and the fire alarm is as well. These issues and the fire alarm where never mentioned to my Front Desk staff when you called after leaving the property. You checked into the room at 1pm and left at 12am... having used the bed and the 2 person jacuzzi tub it appears that some of your needs where met; and it would seem that in that time you would have discovered the bed was not soft enough. Had you brought this to our attention and given us the opportunity; we would have gladley moved you to another room and accomodated your needs. Not given that chance and all the evidence that our equipment is in working order, I would not have issued you back a full refund as requested.

Respectfully,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
18.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,533 reviews
21.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.