We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Pomona, California
1 review
“Two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family stayed at a suite room for two nights. Room was clean and spacious. the thing we liked most was the friendiliness of f/D agents and general manager. They are very knowledgeable and smile all the itime. I want to come back to this property in summer time for another family vacation.

Room Tip: This property is the only frnachise hotel in three rivers. You won't be disappointed with your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dearest Guest,

I appreciate that you wrote a review about your experience here at our property. I'm so pleased that you found us to meet your expectations and beyond. We are a friendly group here and we all love our jobs as it must show. Please do come back and stay with us again and until then take good care and have a wonderful Holiday.

Many Blessings,
Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    230
    196
    53
    38
See reviews for
217
273
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We really liked the complete offer of the stay at Comfort Inn & Suites. At our stay we decided to have an 'off day' and just chill out, which is perfectly able at this accomodation. The use of the sauna, pool and the jacuzzi really made it possible along with the generous continental breakfast.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who is travelling along.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. It's always nice to know that a guest enjoyed just staying close to the hotel for a well deserved rest and relaxation day... I love those days myself. We so much appreciate that you took the time to offer up your experience here at our property and hope that you return to do more of the same.

Happy Days to you,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for a nightiwth the family back in the first part of August. We had one of the larger rooms/suites which provided more than enough space for 2 adults and two teens. Room was very clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy (although I did not expact to be blown away by the decor of a comfort Inn) but obviously well maintained Check in was fast and easy, and the staff seemed well organized. The complimentary breakfasy buffet was good, but with just a few tweeks could be great. Very crowded for breakfast though, suggest you go early if you can and are staying in peak season as we were.
Note: Try Todds Pizza down the road. Brought some back to the hotel for dinner and it was amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank yor for your review... It's always good to hear what we are doing right and it affirms that we are creating return guests. I'm pleased that there was ample room for your entire family as you where most likely in one of our family suite. I hope that if you are ever again in our area that you allow us to provide a safe and comfortable place for you and your family to stay.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went with a chain Instead of an independently owned so we'd be sure to have some of the standard hotel features. So you would think you would have (as the hotel claims) Internet in your room, or an ice machine. We had neither in the 3 days we were there. The ice machine never worked, and the front desk was fully aware of this yet did nothing but shrug. We had to sit in the lobby to get Internet (lots of other guests doing this as well). Again, the front desk just shrugged. The handle on the door to our room did not work and it was a struggle to get in every time, Now, on the upside of customer service, as there was no microwave in the room, I asked to use the one in the lobby and they said yes. After 4 minutes in the microwave, it was still completely frozen, it had not cooked at all. When I asked the woman at the front desk what I was doing wrong, she just looked up and shrugged again and said they were having trouble with it and went back to what she was doing (there was no one else in the lobby, so it's not like she was helping other guests). The rooms and grounds are starting to show their age, if this hotel continues on the path it's on, I wonder how much longer they can hold on to their franchise name.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your disappointment in your stay with us. Unfortunately we are at the mercy of AT&T with our WIFI and cell service up here in this mountain community and do wish we had more control over that. We do also have 2 ice makers on the property and I believe that my staff would have graciously informed you of that and also would have assited you with the microwave in our kitchen had you needed help with that.

I wish your experience would have been more positive as we do strive to keep our standards high and our customer service the best as most all of our reviews attest. However, we do use every review good or bad as an opportunity to improve.

Many Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in April 2012. The main areas of the motel are pleasant enough, and the location is convenient to what there is of the "downtown" area of Three Rivers, and close to national parks. The breakfast is ample, if somewhat pedestrian: fruit, bread of all kinds, condiments, coffee, juice, scrambled eggs (made from powdered eggs), sausage (made from God only knows what), and you can make your own waffles from pre-made batter and drown them in artificially colored and flavored corn syrup.

The big problem was with our room: I gave the carpet the "white socks" treatment (walk around for a while in white socks and see how long they stay white). It was not clean. One of the electrical outlets near the bed did not work, and in our bathroom, the fluorescent light over the sink and mirror was burnt out. When we called this in to maintenance, we had a fix-it man camping out with us on and off for three days, leaving the miscellaneous parts lying around the bathroom, and broken pieces of sharp plastic on the floor.

The light was never fixed. Our shower curtain had red stains -- blood or fingernail polish? I could not distinguish.

The hot tub was broken. I talked to a different maintenance man about that. He said they needed to go into the city to buy a replacement jet, but no one had bothered to perform that task.

When I complained about the hot tub, the staff claimed that the hot tub and pool were closed "for the season" (late April in California is out of season?), and claimed that this was indicated on their website (it was not... nor were the pool or hot tub in any way marked "closed"). And if the hot tub were out of service, why was it filled with hot water, even though the jets were broken?

Apparently, locals try to sneak in for free breakfast, so the motel staff had attempted to remedy this situation by removing the handle on the dining room door that faced the interior grounds. I don't know if it deterred locals, but it certainly made it difficult for us guests to enter the dining room without traipsing out and around the building to the front entrance.

Basically, this place was being run for the pleasure of the staff and not for the comfort of the guests.

I recommend that visitors to the area check out a local establishment and let this chain wither as it should.

PS: When I checked out, I made my feelings about the above-mentioned things very clear to the staff, and I requested that they refund the equivalent of one day's lodging. They refused, but said they would return 10% to our credit card.

They never made this refund.

Room Tip: Go to another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your unsatifactory stay with us. As a correction, let me say that our eggs are not powered and our sausauge is 100% pork. We do have waffles irons so you can make either original or blueberry waffles and we serve Log Cabin syrup with them. We would love to afford pure maple syrup but we do our best to satisfy the palet of as many guests as possible. We also serve fruit, a variety of muffins, donuts, english muffins and wheat bread, 3 different types of cereal accompanied by 3 different juices, coffe and tea.

We had snow here in mid April and we did open the pool later in the month but my confusion lies in that if it was closed how could it be broken or even the water heated. We do unfortunatley have to shut off that entrance to the lobby because we are the only hotel in town that serves a hot breakfast and that is taken advantage of. By eliminating the access to the non guests you can imagine the money that we are able to save and every penny counts.

I apologize for the 3 days it took to replace a light bulb and I will look into that as that is completely unacceptable. As for the remainder of your complaints I again aplogize and hope that you have contacted us by now for your deserved discount.

Most Respectfully,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Clean and pleasant room. However, there were no microwave and mini fridge. We need to borrow the microwave in the breakfast area to cook some instant noodle as there were no eatery around as we were in a very isolated place. Good thing was its very quiet. In room wifi Internet was weak and not working well. The complementary breakfast was good, parking was free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay with us. We do offer rooms with and without the amenites of a microwave and refrigerator and some with a double jacuzzi in the room and or a sofa bed. We try and accomodate everyone and everyone has a different affordability level. As for restaruants we do have 2 just across the street and up about 300 yards. Those restaraunts are included in our guest directory located on the desk in every room. I'm happy that you did find your stay satisfactory and hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed one evening in this basic plus hotel. Beds were hard and very uncomfortable in our room and complimentary breakfast was ok. We chose it for its location and there aren't many hotels in this part.

Room Tip: Make sure to do Big Tree Trails. it gives you such a good up close view of sequoias. Everyone else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on our behalf. I apologize that the bed was not as comfortable as you had hoped and we are scheduled to upgrade our beds in the not to distant future. We appreciate your feedback as we see ever review as an opportunity to improve and enhance the amenities to accomodate all travelers. I hope that in the future you stay with us again.

Best Wishes,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.