We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sequoia National Park, CA; June 6, 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Kalispell, MT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sequoia National Park, CA; June 6, 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I worked in Sequoia National Park 30 years ago. I wanted to visit the park and see the changes.
I planned on riding a bicycle to the Giant Forest, from Visalia, but found out road construction wouldn't allow me to do that. So, I booked a room at the Comfort Inn at Three Rivers, the gateway-town to Sequoia Park.
I rode the "Sequoia Shuttle", that picked me up at the Comfort Inn. It took me all the way to the Giant Forest in Sequoia Park. There were free shuttle busses in the park.
All the buildings and structures, I remembered in Giant Forest, had been removed, to protect the Giant Sequoia trees. A person would never know there had been developement there, if not for the information kiosks. It was much better without the human structures in the "Big Trees".
The two nights I stayed at the Three Rivers Comfort Inn was really pleasant. A long soak in the hot tub after hiking aroung Giant Forest relaxed my weary bones. Delicious hot breakfasts both mornings made for a wonderful stay.
I plan on going back to Sequoia, again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you Dear Guest for reporting such a thorough review of your experience in the park and with us. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of the jacuzzi and was able to relax and destress. We do strive to have a good breakfast to start your day off right and its good to know that you found it tasty.

We look forward to having you again as our guest and until then be safe and well.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    223
    191
    50
    34
See reviews for
208
263
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room, breakfast and pool are satisfactory. Conveniently located just outside the south entrance of Sequoia National Park. We found the Comfort Inn & Suites to be a great place to unwind after a long day of hiking and driving in the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you have posted such a nice review. We strive to make everybodies stay here comfortable and safe and I so pleased that you where able to unwind and relax after such a strenuous day. We hope that whenever you are in our area again, you will choose us for you comforts.

Thank You,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed her 1 night coming from Sequoia and Kings Canyon. The rooms were Ok, clean beds, clean towels. Breakfast was awful and the room was too small. We had a nice talk with a couple that was visting from LA. This was the only good thing about the breakfast. For 1 night the hotel is Ok, but not for longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you did find your room clean and accomodating. We do our best to provide breakfast that will please the palet of everyone and hope that you where able to find something that was satisfying. We appreciate your business and hope that when in the foothills of the Sequoia National Forest again, you choose us for your comfort and safety away from home.

Thank you,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is a poor example of a Comfort inn and needs to re-earn its two star rating.

We arrived prior to the check-in time so we were asked by the reception staff to come back at 3.30. It wasn't a problem as we went off to the park for a while. On check-in the reception staff infomed us that there would be a $50 fee if we decided to leave early. During our extended vacation in the USA no other hotel has ever stipulated such a thing on check-in. During our stay we began to understand why this hotel does, see below.

The following morning we found a child's ball left by a previous guest at the side of one of the double beds. A tell tale sign the room had not been thoroughly cleaned prior to us checking in. There were also ants coming in around the window. The room was on the second floor. The reception staff was informed of both matters who recorded the complaint and said the matter would in reported to the Manager who would be on site in the afternoon.

On our return later in the day we checked the cleanliness of the room and found crisp crumbs under the bed which had not been left by us and there was no sign of any cleaning or spray to deter the ants coming in around the window. When I went down to speak to the Manager on duty they had no knowledge of our complaint until they referred to a file. The Manager accepted an invitation to inspect the room themselves, durring which they were also shown the state of the window which was covered with cobwebs & dead flies, the white line of dust around the edge of the carpet and the ceiling fan covered with dust. The Manager was apologetic and the cost of the stay was reduced.

Breakfast was not good either. The breakfast area is too small for the number of guest when all rooms are accompanied. The conference room adjacent to the reception area was opened to cope with the numbers but the tables and chairs where left in a U shape which showed a lack of consideration for guests comfort somewhat. The breakfast was advertised as deluxe, it was not in my opinion. The sachet of porridge oats tried was stale, there were no yogurts on offer, the bread was low quality, sliced brown or white muffins only and the only fruit were oranges. The cereal was very sweet and the containers had an inch of cereal dust at the bottom as if they are never emptied just continuously topped up.

At the time of our visit the road into the park from Three Rivers was under construction. The road was openned to traffic on the hour only, so you had to time your journey just right otherwise you had a long wait. I would recommend looking into staying elsewhere to visit Sequoia National Park at least until the road construction is completed and this hotel gets its house in order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I again apologize for your negative experience here at our propery in Three Rivers. Unfortunately you where assigned a room that was in need of a deep clean as obviously a previous guest was not so considerate when eating chips in the room during their stay. I'm sure they didn't realize that being in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, insects and pests can be an issue when there is sweet or greasy food left uncovered or unrefrigerated. I know that if you had been assigned another room, you would not have been disappointed with that portion of your stay.

Our breakfast area is a bit small but at the time of construction; building codes where followed to suite the possibility of the hotel being 100% occupied. Short of doing a remodel, we do feel that we serve our guests the best possible way we can with the space that we have available and we do our best to have a variety of obptions to suite as many palets as possible.

I hope that if you are in our area again in the future, you allow us to serve you. I'm sure that you would have a much different experience.

Thank you for your review as we see all reviews as an opportunity to improve.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For convenience, the Comfort Inn was close to the entrance of Sequoia National Park. We were checked in quickly, and the room was fine. It did seem a bit worn and dirty. There was a problem with the blankets not being clean, but when I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk, it was taken care of. The cleanliness of the carpet was also an issue. When getting in the shower, black footprints were left from walking on the carpets., Breakfast was good, and the price was low. However, I would recommend staying in the national park itself. The drive to the heart of the park takes quite a while, and the condition of the hotel didn't really make it worth the trip in and out.

Room Tip: Book a room in the national park. It will save a lot of time driving in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our property and your mention of the convenience of the location and that your check in went quickly. I do apologize that we did fall short in some aspects. We do see every review, good or bad, as an opportunity to improve ourselves and our property. We have addressed the carpet in the room you occupied and again we appreciate that you brought that to our attention.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Maltock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I called ahead for either a king suite or two queen size beds - pet friendly. When I got there, they had neither so they put us in what they called the manager's apartment. First floor, next to the office. Spacious, couldn't have been nicer. The front desk was most accomodating. The motel offered a full breakfast which was quite good. Only a couple of miles from the entrance of the Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm so pleased that you found your room all that you needed it to be. It's so important to us to know that we are doing things right. It's encouraging to all of us here to strive to make that happen. I hope that your made it home safely and you are well. We look forward to someday seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just average place. They need to lose the out-dated comforters. We pulled it off right away because we were not sure if it had been washed after last oocupant. Most hotels have now gone to duvets which can be washed after each occupancy. Also, breakfast was a disaster. It was a full house with too little food and no room to sit. There were only two staff members working, Ben behind the front desk and Tina from housekeeping. They were doing their very best but there were just too many guests to keep up with. We waited an hour for eggs and then had to wait another 20 minutes for sausage. The line for the waffle irons (2) was always at least 5 deep. I asked to speak to the manager and I was told that she was not on the property which I found odd since it was a full house and understaffed. The whole idea of coupons for breakfast was a joke since most people stayed for at least an hour and continued eating as soon as poor Tina could put more food out. The warming pans were never full. Even when she put the food out, it was a very small amount. and was quickly gone. We finally settled for coffee and a bowl of cereal. Very disappointing. In regards to location, because of the road construction, we decided that it would be easier to exit the park at the northern exit and travel back to the hotel. That was silly since it was closer to just stay at Exeter or Valisis since we had to double back to Three Rivers. Its location is not very good now that the park is under so much construction. It's easier to enter and exit from the northern entrance. Sorry Comfort Inn. You seem to be making a good profit so update your rooms and hire more staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize that you didn't find our property as you had anticiapted. I hope that you did have an enjoyable time in the National Forest inspite of your disappointments.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.