We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay, could better stay in the park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Pella, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average stay, could better stay in the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For convenience, the Comfort Inn was close to the entrance of Sequoia National Park. We were checked in quickly, and the room was fine. It did seem a bit worn and dirty. There was a problem with the blankets not being clean, but when I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk, it was taken care of. The cleanliness of the carpet was also an issue. When getting in the shower, black footprints were left from walking on the carpets., Breakfast was good, and the price was low. However, I would recommend staying in the national park itself. The drive to the heart of the park takes quite a while, and the condition of the hotel didn't really make it worth the trip in and out.

Room Tip: Book a room in the national park. It will save a lot of time driving in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our property and your mention of the convenience of the location and that your check in went quickly. I do apologize that we did fall short in some aspects. We do see every review, good or bad, as an opportunity to improve ourselves and our property. We have addressed the carpet in the room you occupied and again we appreciate that you brought that to our attention.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Maltock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    277
    219
    55
    43
See reviews for
243
322
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I called ahead for either a king suite or two queen size beds - pet friendly. When I got there, they had neither so they put us in what they called the manager's apartment. First floor, next to the office. Spacious, couldn't have been nicer. The front desk was most accomodating. The motel offered a full breakfast which was quite good. Only a couple of miles from the entrance of the Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm so pleased that you found your room all that you needed it to be. It's so important to us to know that we are doing things right. It's encouraging to all of us here to strive to make that happen. I hope that your made it home safely and you are well. We look forward to someday seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just average place. They need to lose the out-dated comforters. We pulled it off right away because we were not sure if it had been washed after last oocupant. Most hotels have now gone to duvets which can be washed after each occupancy. Also, breakfast was a disaster. It was a full house with too little food and no room to sit. There were only two staff members working, Ben behind the front desk and Tina from housekeeping. They were doing their very best but there were just too many guests to keep up with. We waited an hour for eggs and then had to wait another 20 minutes for sausage. The line for the waffle irons (2) was always at least 5 deep. I asked to speak to the manager and I was told that she was not on the property which I found odd since it was a full house and understaffed. The whole idea of coupons for breakfast was a joke since most people stayed for at least an hour and continued eating as soon as poor Tina could put more food out. The warming pans were never full. Even when she put the food out, it was a very small amount. and was quickly gone. We finally settled for coffee and a bowl of cereal. Very disappointing. In regards to location, because of the road construction, we decided that it would be easier to exit the park at the northern exit and travel back to the hotel. That was silly since it was closer to just stay at Exeter or Valisis since we had to double back to Three Rivers. Its location is not very good now that the park is under so much construction. It's easier to enter and exit from the northern entrance. Sorry Comfort Inn. You seem to be making a good profit so update your rooms and hire more staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize that you didn't find our property as you had anticiapted. I hope that you did have an enjoyable time in the National Forest inspite of your disappointments.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Precy Sur Oise, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The location is very convenient. The hotel was clean and comfortable for our family of four. The staff were helpful, and the breakfast and pool were both great. I definitely recommend this hotel for families visiting the park.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review...It's always nice to hear that all of our departments are doing their jobs and that our amenities are meeting the expectations of our guests. I hope that if you are ever in the foothills of the Sequoia/Kings Canyon National Parks, you again choose us for your comfort and accomodations.

Many Blessings,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, Tx.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

When reviewing pet-friendly motels on line, this appeared to be one of best in this location and it was. After a tiring day in the park was nice not to have to drive back into Visalia. Motel was decent. Everything fairly clean. Grandchildren enjoyed the pool. Not many restaurent choices, so we had pizza in, which everyone enjoyed. Breakfast area somewhat cramped, but overall the stay there was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I'm so happy that you found our property to be convenient, clean and accomodating. I hope that if ever you are in our area, you choose us for again.

Best Wishes,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Long day hiking in parks was nice to have short drive to comfort inn three rivers. Much cheaper than staying in park and still close by. Super clean room and excellent breakfast! Def. stay here again! Thanks Kitty!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I was so happy to help you have the best stay possible with us and that you found our property to be everything you needed it to be. I look forward to seeing you again in the future and until then, be safe, happy and blessed.

Many Kind Regards,

Kitty Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms. Great breakfast offered each morning. There are no elevators so be ready to carry your suitcase up the stairs. It is quite a drive to Sequoia but this is the best place to stay that is close. There isn't anyplace to eat or buy much of anything in this town. Get groceries before you begin the long journey to get here. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Our satellite GPS lost signal several times on the way to the hotel. It was kind of scary. The town is in the middle of nowhere. This hotel is great for visiting Sequoia. Kings Canyon is another three hour drive from Sequoia so we didn't go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and so glad that you found our location convenient. Sounds like you where put in our Bldg. 1 which has no elevator. In the future should you come to our area again, ask to be assigned to our Bldg. 2 which does have an elevator. Also for your future visit, there is a grocery store and 2 restaurants just 100 yards east of our property.

I hope that your journey home was safe and uneventful and we wish you many blessings,

Kind Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon

Address: 40820 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites is conveniently located only 5 miles from the Sequoia National Park, where you will find the General Sherman Tree and the Giant Forest. This hotel is the only official shuttle bus stop in the Three Rivers area that travels to Sequoia & Kings Canyon national parks (seasonal from May to September). We offer 103 guest rooms, including 16 suites, with many great amenities and services one could ask for in the Three Rivers area. The Three Rivers area has a great selection of year round activities as well as great restaurants. The Comfort Inn prides itself on offering a warm, inviting atmosphere that will immediately have you feeling right at home.Comfort Inn & Suites offers several great services and amenities to all its guests. In the morning, come enjoy our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with eggs, sausages, and hot waffles. Also, enjoy browsing the web with our free high-speed wireless Internet access. All of our rooms feature in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, work desks and cable television. Rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, wet bars, and fireplaces are also available. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, with sauna, coin-operated laundry facilities, gift shop, free local calls, and complimentary local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon Hotel Three Rivers
Comfort Inn And Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Comfort Inn Three Rivers
Sequoia Park Lodging
Three Rivers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.