We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile but has some drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Three Rivers Hideaway

Three Rivers Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Rivers Hideaway
Save
You added Three Rivers Hideaway to your Saves list
43365 Sierra Drive, Highway 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Hollywood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worthwhile but has some drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This review is for tent camping only. The staff were very friendly and we got a site right on the river. We traveled with a bunch of kids from 3 years to teens and they all loved it. They have a great swimming hole here. The only drawback is that the campground could do with some sprucing up. While the campsites are right on the river they area just inland of the sites is a huge open space that has been graveled over. It's too bad because if they would just plant trees here it wouldn't affect access and would even give the proprietor's more campsites. The other minor aesthetic problem is that there is a pile of building material and debris next to 3 of the sites. It’s only barely hidden by the trees.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
camarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I went here with coworkers and our families. I stayed in the cabin for 2 nights with my almost 3 yr old. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. It was nice to not have to walk anywhere to use the bathroom and shower or lug things around to take a shower. My cabin neighbors were quiet. I even texted my dad and told him I felt like I was in a retreat!! My friends camped in tents by the river. My other friends were in RV's. They had a great time too!! We went to the lake and lounged during the day!! I stayed the last night in the tent with them and the only bad thing was neighbors rocking out late at night and the 6:15am blaring music by other campers!!! I also got poison oak that was a few feet from their site!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

To make a long story short the staff, once you could find them, were pleasant but the rooms and grounds were horrible. It was so old and dirty that we literally slept in our sleeping bags on the bed and checked out after just one evening. We would have left sooner if we could have found a room avaliable. The "cabins" are just old tiny rooms with carpeting so old and dirty it is coming loose from the padding; we wouldn't walk barefoot in the place. However to be fair if you are tent camping this is a great spot, and it is right on the river along a nice swimming hole.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Be carefull with this place. The owner Dave is a super nice guy but the Hideaway is more of a hideaway for people hideing from the law. Run down RV's look like they have been there since the 1930'S. A few crack heads wondering around.If you need a place to hide from the law or the ex-wife this is the place to go!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz Mountains, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Appreciated last minute availability and kitchen and AC. Inside, cabin was cute and seemed clean. Location is close-ish to the main road through town. One wall in bathroom seemed a bit dirty. Bed was comfy. Maybe 30 yards from cabin, a car was being worked on after about 8:30 am. We hiked in the parks. Did not see the river access. Not sure about value compared to cost as we really needed lodging at the last minute.

  • Liked — Availability and proximity to Sequoia National Park
  • Disliked — One bathroom wall seemed a bit dirty
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Rivers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Hideaway

Address: 43365 Sierra Drive, Highway 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Number of rooms: 71
Also Known As:
Three Rivers Hideaway Hotel Three Rivers
3 Rivers Hideaway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Rivers Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.