We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Rivers Hideaway

Three Rivers Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Rivers Hideaway
Save
You added Three Rivers Hideaway to your Saves list
43365 Sierra Drive, Highway 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Torrance, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have stayed in the cabins many times, they are old but clean, I think that makes them quaint. We have also stayed in our Teardrop trailer at this place and it was very quiet. The river is just a short walk from the cabins and is great for small kids because this aera of the river is very calm.
The owner is a very nice guy and so is his wife. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Most of the negative reviews of this place seemed to be about the cabins. We had an RV and put up a tent behind it, so never saw the cabins. As an RV park, this place was wonderful. The river setting and the hills around the site made this a very scenic place to relax. We saw lots of people heading down to the river for boating trips, and Kaweah Lake just before town is very nice on its own. There are many long-term residents at the RV park, and they were all very neighborly.

Three Rivers as a town is very small. A few restaurants and shops, but not much else in terms of things to do. This is, however, a great place to stay for visits to Sequoia National Park. The park entrance is just 15 minutes away, and the winding road up to the first sights is another half hour.

There's also a fantastic shuttle bus that picks you up just 100 yards from Three Rivers Hideaway. Make sure you book your shuttle ticket in advance. The shuttles go all around Sequoia at regular intervals, and they're planning on adding more routes in the future. Dave at reception was very helpful in advising us about the road work being done and everything else we asked.

The WiFi was spotty, and cell phone users note: this area only has T-Mobile service at this time, so nothing else works.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Last year Labor Day 2009 we rented three cabins for our extended group. Two of the cabins were ready for occupancy, but the third cabin next to the manager's campsite was still occupied and wasn't ready until after 1pm. It turns out the occupants were close friends of the management. This year in May 2010 we reserved all three cabins again and were told just two weeks prior to Labor Day that there was a conflict in cabin rentals and only two were available. During our stay we came to find out, that the same cabin was in use by the management's friends again! It would be nice if your management would not be so selfish and inconsiderate putting their own pleasure before the needs of the business!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

As others have said, the guy running the place is nice- but Three Rivers Hideaway is second-rate at best. The electrical service doesn't have enough power for all the RVs, so beyond early afternoon you can forget running your A/C. Ever see that TV show "Green Acres" where they had an amateur goofy electrical system and they could never run all the appliances at the same time? Welcome to Three Rivers Hideaway. "Wifi" only works half the time, and very slow. Plus- lots of junky mobile homes and trailers; everybody is parked on top of everybody else. Noise. No privacy. Yeah, it's a hide away alright, and you won't want to hide here very long.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This review is for tent camping only. The staff were very friendly and we got a site right on the river. We traveled with a bunch of kids from 3 years to teens and they all loved it. They have a great swimming hole here. The only drawback is that the campground could do with some sprucing up. While the campsites are right on the river they area just inland of the sites is a huge open space that has been graveled over. It's too bad because if they would just plant trees here it wouldn't affect access and would even give the proprietor's more campsites. The other minor aesthetic problem is that there is a pile of building material and debris next to 3 of the sites. It’s only barely hidden by the trees.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I went here with coworkers and our families. I stayed in the cabin for 2 nights with my almost 3 yr old. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. It was nice to not have to walk anywhere to use the bathroom and shower or lug things around to take a shower. My cabin neighbors were quiet. I even texted my dad and told him I felt like I was in a retreat!! My friends camped in tents by the river. My other friends were in RV's. They had a great time too!! We went to the lake and lounged during the day!! I stayed the last night in the tent with them and the only bad thing was neighbors rocking out late at night and the 6:15am blaring music by other campers!!! I also got poison oak that was a few feet from their site!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

To make a long story short the staff, once you could find them, were pleasant but the rooms and grounds were horrible. It was so old and dirty that we literally slept in our sleeping bags on the bed and checked out after just one evening. We would have left sooner if we could have found a room avaliable. The "cabins" are just old tiny rooms with carpeting so old and dirty it is coming loose from the padding; we wouldn't walk barefoot in the place. However to be fair if you are tent camping this is a great spot, and it is right on the river along a nice swimming hole.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Rivers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Hideaway

Address: 43365 Sierra Drive, Highway 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Number of rooms: 71
Also Known As:
Three Rivers Hideaway Hotel Three Rivers
3 Rivers Hideaway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Rivers Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.