We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, motorcycle friendly and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn & Cabins

Save Saved
You added The River Inn & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The River Inn & Cabins
45176 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Santa Fe Springs, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, motorcycle friendly and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

After 3 days of camping and motorcycle riding through King's Canyon and Sequoia, we needed a shower and a good night's rest before heading home. We had reservations at the River Inn and Cabins and got there around 4:30 PM. After a friendly greeting in the office we settled into room 2 on the floor where we could park our motorcycles directly in front of our room. The room was immaculately clean, with all of the essentials for the tired traveler. After hot showers and clean clothes my buddy and I were ready to head out for dinner. When we returned someone in a Ford Ranger had taken our parking space but we were still able to park close enough to keep an eye on things. We spent a couple of hours sitting on the chairs near the water fountain out front and talked until the eyelids got heavy. The beds were very comfortable with substantial pillows instead of those motel six dishrags. Even though we had people above us and on both sides we didn't hear a sound all night. Even cars going by on the highway were barely noticeable. It was a very pleasant stay in a very clean, comfortable room and then we even got a small breakfast. We found a substantial small "shopping bag" (you know the old fashioned ones with the jute handles?) that had a small can of apple juice, one of orange juice, a lemon muffin and a blueberry muffin, a banana and an orange. It was a great snack to start the day, along with 2 cups of coffee each. We hit the road in a great mood and ready to ride. I can't wait to go back with my wife in the near future.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here. Even with people above and both sides it was quiet and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
12
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Since we drove in from LA area we knew we'd be arriving late, but were still greeted after hours with a smile! Room was clean and comfortable. Quaint and quiet. Very convenient location for short drive to Sequoia National Park. Staff was very friendly and made terrific recommendations of what to see in Sequoia, and invited us to come back again soon. Breakfast delivered to the front door was a nice touch. We'd definitely stay here again, and hopefully next time in one of the river-front cabins. Travel tip: don't trust your GPS. It was late and dark when we made the trip, and the GPS ended the destination too soon - we thought we missed it. Staff at hotel can provide better directions if needed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed three days and two nights at the River Oak cabin in the River Inn, and it was great! The cabin was small, but it was large enough for two people. The bed was comfortable, and everything looked clean. The kitchen is small, but well equipped with stove, fridge, microwave, and dishes. Prep areas for food are limited to a table outside on the deck or a small table next to the bed. The deck outside was really nice, private, and the hot tub was great to relax after a day of hiking and driving. Your backyard is literally the river bed, and you can hear the river loudly, which was nice.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at the River Oak cabin. And cooking our own meals saved us a lot in food. I would definitely recommend it and I would stay here again on future trips. I think the negative reviews are from people who are way too picky and are expecting a high-end luxury resort experience.

The good stuff:
- Cozy and comfortable small cabin.
- Equipped with all the luxuries, including a hot tub on the deck
- Friendly and helpful owners/staff
- Very close to Sequoia park entrance
- Right on the river
- Well kept and very clean
- Their website portrayed a very accurate and informative description about the cabin, I was very pleased upon arrival.

My only complaints (which are very insignificant):
- The kitchen has very little food prep and counter space areas
- The shower head in the bathroom is a bit low, tall people will have to lean down
- You have to pay for WiFi, and we were told that it's only good for checking emails and web surfing, but too slow to upload photos or download content.
- There's absolutely no cell phone reception as soon as you hit the lake, unless you have AT&T, so do everything you have to do before you pass the lake.
- The deck has only one dim light, which made it a bit hard to grill in the dark both evenings
- The AC is a wall unit, so be aware that it'll be a bit loud if you have it running all night.
- You won't be able to sleep in because it gets really bright early in the morning (which might be a good thing)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had planned to camp in the park, but needed a break, and found this little place nearby. It looked a little iffy on the outside, despite all the nice plantings, and we asked to see a room. A staff member showed us the room we could use, and was very helpful in pointing things out to us. The room felt a little small, but that could have been the furniture. The TV cabinet held not only the TV but the refrigerator and microwave (it also had drawers for other things). Everything was clean and looked as if it had been recently remodeled. The bed was comfortable, and it was so peaceful that, after checking in, I immediately took a nap (and slept well that night). The only problem we had was that they were fully booked the next night, and we had to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Clean, new sheets and linens. Large room. Very welcoming A.C. due to the hot weather. The staff was very friendly and let us borrow a bottle opener and the use of their hose. Nice landscaping. Bistro set outside room let us sit on the deck and watch the sun hit the mountains on the cool morning. I had fair warning at the time of booking the room that it was non-refundable. I was warning that the breakfast was minimal. Only negative: the breakfast muffen taste like chemicals and 100% artificial.

Room Tip: bottom floor is cooler and access without climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I spent two very comfortable nights at River Inn. My room was large, good bathroom with a tub, good TV that worked, and nice people running the inn. The Three Rivers river across the street added wonderful back ground music and the nicely landscaped front area was pleasing to my gardener's eyes. The Breakfast in a Bag" made a perfect mid morning snack when I visited Sequoia. There is a bank, gas, laundry, good restaurants nearby and the shuttle into the park is a must-do. The inn is quiet and peaceful. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

On our tour we stayed two nights in this Inn and never regreted staying there. As Three Rivers is a long streched location along the road, it´s not surprising, that all the accomodationes we saw were along this road, but the this Inn is a little set back, and at evenings there is hardly any traffic, as it´s just one or two miles to the National park, which is obviously closed at night to the public. There´s a lawn in front of the Inn, where you can relax in reclining chairs, alltogether the place is charming, with a hint of english gardens.
The rooms were spacious and clean with AC, TV, fridge, microwave and coffemaker, what else would you need?
Our hosts were friendly and very helpfull, gave us good advice on our tours to the park,
thank´s very much again for the pleasure staying with you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn & Cabins

Address: 45176 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The River Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Inn And Cabins
The River Inn & Cabins Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.