We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have read the desciption better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia River Dance B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia River Dance B&B
Save
You added Sequoia River Dance B&B to your Saves list
40534 Cherokee Oaks Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I should have read the desciption better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I think when I booked this I did not read the description properly. I thought we were staying in our own cabins and did not realise that we were staying in a room in someone elses cabin, so I was a little shocked when shown to our room. However Sharon was welcoming when we got there and pointed us to local maps/books etc all about the area which we sat and read. I was a little disappointed there was no tv in the room and being as we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary I did feel that that every thing else was out of the question in a shared house (a bit like going home and being in the next room to your mother.. if you know what I mean???)... but as I said, that is my own fault for not reading the description enough. We did however have a lovely room and a very peaceful nights sleep. It is in a beautiful setting with a river running at the side of it. I would have liked a little choice at breakfast, because as much as I loved it, my husband does not eat sweet things and struggled to eat it... he was so looking forward to eggs for breakfast which he did not get. I did actually enjoy sharing breakfast with other guests and chatting to them about their travels etc. I would still recomend this place highly even though it was not what I had planned in my mind... Note to myself to read description more carefully in the future :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaShaSierraNevada, Owner at Sequoia River Dance B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Most of our guests are very well traveled, and have enjoyed the experience of a bed and breakfast in the past. These guests have chosen us for that reason, and not by mistake. It is not for everyone, but many travelers appreciate the warmer, more personalized service of a B&B, rather than the cool anonymity of a large motel.

I believe our website gives a fair description of the kind of a place we are, photos included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    34
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
35
83
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pomona CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Sequoia River Dance -- and enjoyed our stay. Home comfort in a spacious suburban home along a small river located off the main highway which is a real plus. Although the individual rooms are small - ours was bright and comfy with what we needed for a great Spring weekend of exploration. We looked forward to our breakfasts and morning conversations with the inn keepers and enjoyed their ability to connect with items of interest to us. In the evening - the house living area and media room were ours - along with an affectionate house cat. Lovely, simple grounds and location along the river with decks overlooking -- a great informal and local find!

Room Tip: Sequoia has nice light from 2 sides, its own bath and an extra day bed which is great for R&R; T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

As my husband and I started our holiday road trip Christmas Eve, this was our first stop - & boy was in the best! The B&B is in a residential area, so you might think you're lost at first. It's so close to Sequoia National Park - the owners can help you with any questions you might have. We loved it and wish we had stayed longer than two days!

Pros:
-The owners are fantastic; kind, helpful, thoughtful and great company!
-Breakfast is fantastic! Sherry modified my breakfast to a vegetarian option!
-The B&B feels so comfortable; just like a home should. They have the TV downstairs, books, board and card games and maps to read
-The patio area outside overlooks a beautiful river - it's simply amazing. At night, you've never seen so many stars!
-The room was so comfortable and cozy - it was perfect
-Bathroom was clean and ready
-Kitchen was open and available to us. The owners left out cups for tea and hot coco, along with chocolate treats

Cons:
-No TV in the room

I would stay here again, in fact, I'd like to rent it out and have my entire family stay here. I recommend this B&B to everyone - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My two daughters, husband, and FOUR dogs stayed over Veterans Day weekend...............had a lovely time! Sharon was very accommodating, and complimented us on our well behaved dogs. The setting is beautiful - the back of the house is located right on the river, and the riverbank has lots of oak and sycamore trees. The photo above is exactly right! The trees had their Fall colors, and it was breathtaking! We spent lots of time out in the back, nice big lawn by the riverbank, with our doggies.

The breakfasts are wonderful! We had frittata one day, French toast another, and a special custardy apple dish another, with sausage, potatoes, and appropriate accompaniments. We were welcome to get seconds, and there was no shortage of food! Delicious coffee and juice as well.

Other reviewers are right in that there are not any fine dining establishments in the area - pretty rural..........however, in Exeter there is a French restaurant called Monets, which is known far and wide, where we dined one evening..........great food, fun guitar player, and a nice evening all around.......We thoroughly enjoyed the Park, which, after all, is why people come to this area.

The only downside is that yes, the rooms are a bit dated and the towels are somewhat threadbare. Rooms are small, but the beds are devine! Better than my bed at home - had a wonderful sleep. Our rooms was downstairs, and the girls were upstairs. Upstairs there is a little porch facing the river, with a refrigerator for food and drinks..........

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Sharon, and had a good time chatting with her other guests. Would definitely return if we went back to the Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed Sequoia & Kings Canyon with two other couples. One day while the guys took a hike, the girls went for lunch & shopping in the little town of Exeter. Lots of Antique Stores to explore.The B & B was very comfortable for visiting with friends and playing cards. Breakfasts were so good! The Inn Keepers were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here and was the most disappointing of all our hotel rooms. Our double bed was pushed into what used to be a built in wardrobe, the bathroom was so dated and the carpet needed a good clean. Breakfast was ok but no choice. Animals living in the house ...not very nice in the kitchen area for guests

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaShaSierraNevada, Owner at Sequoia River Dance B&B, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
The room you speak of actually has a king sized bed, and the headboard is built into an alcove in the room. I'm aware of no problem whatsoever in the bathroom.

We do have one indoor / outdoor cat and we are pet friendly, which many of our guests appreciate. We are considerate of anyone that might not enjoy the company of a dog or cat, and
in that case, we would keep the pet away from her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I made a last minute reservation at the Sequoia River Cabin. After a simple "Google" of B&B's near Sequoia, I am glad I stumbled on this! We absolutely loved the cabin! It sat right on the river, had a full kitchen, a very cozy living area, and an outdoor jacuzzi bathtub!! It was the perfect little weekend getaway for my wife and I!! Our last night, as we sat out on the deck eating the dinner we cooked, a beautiful 8-point buck came right across the grass area near the creek. It was perfect. We will definitely be back as soon as we can to try and enjoy a winter weekend!! I'd say the only downfall is yes, it's on the main highway, but they include a nice fan in the bedroom which drowns out any noise in the mornings. We have no complaints other than we wish we could've stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia River Dance B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia River Dance B&B

Address: 40534 Cherokee Oaks Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and casual bed and breakfast located on a mountain stream in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, just about 6 miles from the south entrance to Sequoia / Kings Canyon National Parks. A full country breakfast is served fireside at the harvest table or on the patio by the river. Family friendly and pet friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia River Dance B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.