We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our best choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia River Dance B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia River Dance B&B
40534 Cherokee Oaks Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
wakefield
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not our best choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here and was the most disappointing of all our hotel rooms. Our double bed was pushed into what used to be a built in wardrobe, the bathroom was so dated and the carpet needed a good clean. Breakfast was ok but no choice. Animals living in the house ...not very nice in the kitchen area for guests

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaShaSierraNevada, Owner at Sequoia River Dance B&B, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
The room you speak of actually has a king sized bed, and the headboard is built into an alcove in the room. I'm aware of no problem whatsoever in the bathroom.

We do have one indoor / outdoor cat and we are pet friendly, which many of our guests appreciate. We are considerate of anyone that might not enjoy the company of a dog or cat, and
in that case, we would keep the pet away from her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I made a last minute reservation at the Sequoia River Cabin. After a simple "Google" of B&B's near Sequoia, I am glad I stumbled on this! We absolutely loved the cabin! It sat right on the river, had a full kitchen, a very cozy living area, and an outdoor jacuzzi bathtub!! It was the perfect little weekend getaway for my wife and I!! Our last night, as we sat out on the deck eating the dinner we cooked, a beautiful 8-point buck came right across the grass area near the creek. It was perfect. We will definitely be back as soon as we can to try and enjoy a winter weekend!! I'd say the only downfall is yes, it's on the main highway, but they include a nice fan in the bedroom which drowns out any noise in the mornings. We have no complaints other than we wish we could've stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We used this as a base to explore the park while doing a Cali roadtrip in 2012. Run by a lovely couple with interesting life stories... While it perhaps doesn't look like your typical B&B on the outside once your in its a delight. Nice spacious and tidy room, clean with decent amenities. Friendly and helpful owners, delicious family dining style breakfast with good conversation. We had a great holiday in California and Riverdance played its part.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sequoia River Dance on September 18, 2013. E really enjoyed the place and the room we stayed in...was small but exactly the space we needed. Although you had to walk a few steps down the hall to the big clean and roomy bathroom....it was not a problem....& as seems to be typical of Sharon's thoughtfulness.....robes were provided.
I think Sharon tries really hard to find a balance between warm & welcoming.....& not too intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed her....especially her knowledge of Sequoia National Park!
We arrived late afternoon.....we're welcomed by Sharon and given a tour of the house and property...& then told to "make ourselves at home".
We enjoyed visiting with the other guests, took a short drive and went to bed. The bed was so very comfortable and we were so tired that we experienced a very soothing rest! We slept with our windows open and the ceiling fan on and were completely comfortable the entire night and awakened to the sounds of nature, feeling completely refreshed.
Breakfast was simply amazing. The spinach frittata was delicious and was served with cantelope, honeydew, sourdough toast and potatoes....in addition to coffee & orange juice. The conversation was fun...talking to the other guests about their Sequoia experiences...and learning where each group was from!
Overall, it was a wonderful experience and one that I would absolutely do again!

I did notice homemade cookies that had been put out for guests prior to our arrival!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

An attractive B & B . Lovely dining room with attractively set breakfast table. Very good French Toast. Room was adequate but very small with no bedside table and no clock. Great comfy bed, newly updated, large bathroom. All appeared clean. Nothing particularly wrong, but no,extras at all for the price. No evening snack or beverage set out or mentioned. Aside from a tiny deli which was excellent, there is VERY little choice in dining in the area.. A small, seemingly depressed area about 20-30 min from Sequoia NP. Not easy to locate.....arrive during daylight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are goind to the Sequoia National Park and/or Kings Canyon Park, this is the place to stay, in the town of Three Rivers. Sharon's B&B is amazing. We stayed there for only one night -- unfortunately, wish we could have stayed more... It is REALLY close to the Sequoia Park -- like 10 min drive or less.

We arrived late at night and Sharon had left everything set up for us -- even a flashlight, beacause that night the whole city had a sudden blackout!

The house is beautiful and very well-furnished. We slept at the Sierra Room -- would recommend that one, with a private bathroom and a charming window. Sharon cooked and amazing breakfast for us, when we got to know some of the other people who were staying at the B&B.

It was an awesome experience!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlieren, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our Family had 2 rooms and a shared bathroom.
Rooms were oldfashioned, but okay. No Service done while staying there.
Cleanliness okay, but could be improved.
Breakfast - we had one morning just French toads; next morning some bread.

It seems that the landlday is saving Money - even though the B&B was full with 10 guests, during breakfast nobody showed up, so we couldn't ask for a refill of the orange Juice.
During the night, even tough it was very hot, the A/C was turned of in the whole house. Even with open Windows it was very hot to sleep. This was annoying. The guests don't seem to be welcome that much, rahter a necessity than pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaShaSierraNevada, Owner at Sequoia River Dance B&B, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi Ursula,
That was me, the landlady, serving your breakfast those mornings, and I am at the ready to replenish the coffee, o.j. French Toads~~whatever is needed. As you may recall, the second morning was bread (bagels), and also a frittata, breakfast potatoes, fruit and beverages.

Each of our guest rooms has its own thermostat and controls for heat and A/C. There is not a central switch for the house.

We certainly appreciate everyone of our guests for choosing us, especially those of you who have traveled so far to be here. Thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia River Dance B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia River Dance B&B

Address: 40534 Cherokee Oaks Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and casual bed and breakfast located on a mountain stream in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, just about 6 miles from the south entrance to Sequoia / Kings Canyon National Parks. A full country breakfast is served fireside at the harvest table or on the patio by the river. Family friendly and pet friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia River Dance B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia River Dance B&B to your Saves list