We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia River Dance B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia River Dance B&B
40534 Cherokee Oaks Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Ivanhoe, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We attend the Dixieland Jazz Festival in April each year and we reserve our room at Sequoia River Dance from year to year. The owners, Dan and Sharon, are very helpful, knowledgeable about the area and good hosts. Breakfasts are excellent. Location is good. You cannot go wrong by staying with these folks. Bob and Ann McKellar

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent four nights in the cabin owned by Sharon and Dan; it is on the main road through Three Rivers with the river in the back yard; there are comfortable seating areas at the back and on the side; even though there is traffic, it is not distracting since you have the lovely river to look at.

The cabin is comfortable for two or three people; there is a queen bed and a futon. I slept on the futon and didn't even need to pull it out since it was comfortable just as it is. The cabin is rustic and has kind of a odd layout since it has been converted into various uses over the years but was plenty adequate for our needs with a gas range, dishes, pots and pans, plenty of towels, etc. The cabin is air-conditioned and also has ceiling fans and had a portable fan, so temperature wise it was very comfortable especially considering that the temperatures outside were in the 100 degree range when we were there.

Perhaps the most unusual thing was that there was a large jacuzzi tub on the back deck; not a hot tub, a bathtub, but two of our party used it like a hot tub and enjoyed it.

The cabin advertises free wireless but it was very inadequate; in some areas of the cabin I could not pick up the signal at all and when we did have the signal, it was very low. Apparently it comes from the gift shop next door; my suggestion would be to have wireless through the satellite television provider; there is very little cell phone service here also, so the wireless was even more important to use.

The cabin is within walking distance of a restaurant with deck seating on the river but the food was only mediocre. There is a Mexican restaurant next to the Village Market that is excellent and as a grocery store, the Village Market is more than adequate. Along Rt. 198 before arriving in Three Rivers there are many fruit/vegetable stands selling fresh fruits and vegetables; we recommend buying from them as they are selling local vegetables/fruits.

Lake Kaweah has public swimming areas but when we were there (July) the lake was extremely low due to it being the dry season, however we did go swimming at the Slick Rock Recreational Area.

Also we recommend going to Visalia, about a 20 minute drive, for shopping and nice restaurants.

The cabin is a short drive from the Southern entrance to the Sequoia National Park so it is very convenient for visiting the park.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Sequoia River Dance Cabin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this B&B whilst on a three and a half week road trip around California. Our room was really comfortable and cosy. Sharon and Dan were really friendly and hospitable. They gave us some great tips for our visit to the area and the Giant Forest. The rear garden has a lovely river flowing close by and the scenery is beautiful. Dan took some great photo's of us standing next to the river. Sharon personally prepared the lovely breakfasts and one morning we were given Dutch pancakes. They were absolutely delicious! Sharon kindly gave us the recipe and my wife has made them for our grand children a couple of times - they really enjoyed them as well! We enjoyed our stay at the Sequoia River Dance B&B and will definitely stay there again if we visit the Sequoia National Park again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wonderful experience, we got beautiful room with beautiful balcony, the place is quiet and welcoming, they thought of all travelers needs. It was interesting sitting for breakfast with three different nationalities. Breakfast was superb, the French toast with Sharon special syrup was amazing. I got lots of good advices about the area, roads, and the place has bunch of books on the porch. I would love to come back!!! Sequoia is one of the most wonderful parks we visited on this trip, seeing the trees for the first time is like getting into a fairytale. If u try the pizza place for dinner...do not order pasta! Market has good fruits ...mexcican restaurant was not too bad... Ohhh and it was our first B&B ... Much nicer than most hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a lovely family B&B on the edge of Sequioa National Park - an outstanding area of beauty often overlooked compared to the much more popular Yosemite. Sharon and Dan were excellent and caring hosts who were happy to bend over backwards to cater for our whims. The breakfasts were freshly made which made a change from the usual carbon copy breakfast in other hotels, particular mention must go the French toast which was delicious. The B&B had a real communal vibe to it as breakfast was shared with all other guests which we found to be a really enjoyable experience hearing our fellow travellers recommendations. The B&B overlooked a small creek and had a patio outside for guests use - we had dinner on the first night. The rooms were extremely comfortable and homely although slightly lacking in terms of amenities (i.e. there was no TV), however free Wi-Fi was available (I love my Wi-Fi :). In terms of the local area Three Rivers isn't a party town - indeed the restaurant recommended to us burned down on the first day we were there but there was a perfectly good Mexican restaurant. The real draw however is the National Park (home to some incredible views and some stunningly large trees). It's well worth taking the hike up to Moro Rock. If you are planning to stay at the park, I couldn't think of a better place than the River Dance. Many thanks again to Sharon & Dan...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Sharon and Dan are gracious hosts with a lovely home (we especially loved their open dinning room/kitchen) that is conveniently located near the entrance of Sequoia Park.
Breakfast was delicious, especially the french toast. Sitting on the upper balcony/deck of the house in the early evening watching the river run by was heavenly and serene. Our hosts provided many helpful tips (such as what to see, what to avoid and what roads to travel on). My fiance and I only spent two evenings in Three Rivers; which is definitely not enough time, but we will certainly be back to explore more in the near future and look forward to staying at Sequoia River Dance B&B. Thank you Sharon and Dan for making our trip memorable - in a great way!
Sincerely,
The piece of "History Man" and his soon to be wife :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, ny
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed one night in a very comfortable and clean room. Room overlooked a shared porch with a table and chairs. The porch overlooked a babbling stream. There was also a table and chairs right next to the stream. Bathroom was clean, and the location was quiet.

I especially enjoyed being able to open the windows and hear the stream. (Downside: But was scared awake when other guests used the porch at 11:30 at night!)

Only downside: Breakfast was only offered at 8:30 am. Since I had to leave early, I was a bit disappointed there was not another option offered to me (ie: a muffin to go?)

As far as location: great place to stay if you are visiting the Sequoias during the day, but the food options in town for dinner were less than stellar.

Owners were very pleasant, and their decor was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia River Dance B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia River Dance B&B

Address: 40534 Cherokee Oaks Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and casual bed and breakfast located on a mountain stream in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, just about 6 miles from the south entrance to Sequoia / Kings Canyon National Parks. A full country breakfast is served fireside at the harvest table or on the patio by the river. Family friendly and pet friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia River Dance B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia River Dance B&B to your Saves list