We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This restaurant is by-far the nicest place to eat in Three Rivers. The food was adequate, but the quality was not what it should have been for the price. For example, the lettuce in the salad was iceberg lettuce. The rice-pilaf was from a mix, and I suspect the chicken was a frozen entree. The dinner rolls tasted like the variety you get in a plastic bag at the supermarket. It was adequate, but shouldn't have been priced at $23. For that I would expect a higher quality meal. For comparison, the meal at the Peaks Restaurant at the Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia Park was about the same price, but had much higher quality ingredients.So the high price here can't be entirely attributed to the remote location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    38
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I enjoyed getting take out of the same dinner sandwich entrée twice while staying at the Buckeye Tree Lodge next door! I had the salmon burger-it was very flavorful, moist, and not very fishy. It was salmon so it tasted like salmon, with added flavors from spice and oil. The bun was delicious too. It came with cheese, mayo, lettuce, and tomatoes which were equally delicious. The side salad was a generous portion. And their honey mustard dressing was wonderful. The zucchini and onion vegetable side was totally yummy! I'm happy I experienced this pleasant, down to earth restaurant while staying in the sequoias.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place, disappointing food, far overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The location of this restaurant is quite charming, however the food was quite disappointing. The espresso we took was the ugliest I had in 54 years. In 4 we spent about 90 USD for two salads and two tuna soggy sandwiches, quoted as the chef specialty. We will not have another try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I ate here for two nights whilst visiting the nearby National parks. The restaurant was lovely and would have eaten outside if the weather hadn't been so hot. The service was excellent and the waitress remembered us from the night before. The steaks were delicious! A little expensive but you don't mind if the food is good The owner came and spoke with us on both nights which we thought was nice,
If I was travelling in the area again I would make a reservation here again.
Superb!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service - Close to Sequoia Park Enterance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The parking lot and restaurant were full when we arrived around 8 pm on a Tuesday night, but they found us a table after a few minutes and a bit of confusion; we didn't have a reservation. The owner introduced himself at the enterance. There is a long bar in front if you want a drink while they set up your table, The menu is diverse and seemed a bit expensive, however, that is to be expected for the location. The servers were friendly and attentive. The food was well prepared and came out reasonably quickly. While is was perhaps more expensive than might be expected, they made up for it with generous serving sizes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.