We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor quality food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We place comments on Trip Advisor infrequently and try to reserve comments for places that we feel are exceptional value for money or are extremely poor value for money.
The Gateway falls into the latter. We did not stay at the Lodge so our comments are reserved for the restaurant. The location is lovely particularly if you can grab one of the small number of tables overlooking the river. There the compliments end. We visited on a Monday. We had booked ahead and recieved a confirmation email, yet knowledge of our booking was denied. I think that we were meant to be appreciative when they said that they would fit us in when the indoor seating was empty and the terrace 50% full.

The meal. This is the first time we have ever sent a salad back. They seemed surprised that we found unnacceptable,that a plate of single leaf lettuce, one slice of tomato that had clearly been living in the fridge for some time, one baby corn and some shredded pickled beetroot smothered in balsamic dressing about which we had not been consulted. For main course my wife had trout. This was the first time that she has had a rectangular trout so it was someting of a unique experience. The one sprig of broccilli and two baby carrots were however cooked to perfection although the former was heavily disguised in a cold cheese sauce
Our view is that this restaurant has a prime location and little or no competition that they exploit to the full. Our meal cost $90 including a vastly marked up bottle of beer and wine but they did not charge for the salad. Our tip would be to drive down the road to Sierra Subs who do a superb salad and sandwiches, buy a bottle of the same wine at Village Stores at third of the price and find yourself a picnic table by the lake.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    59
    39
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food ..relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great freshly prepared food and great atmosphere ... friendly staff ... try the clam chowder and rack of ribs ... so great

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Burger was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were very hungry after all day hiking and found this place. We ate at the river side. The food was very good. The best burger we had so far. The insects disturb us a lot so it is better to eat inside in the evening. The service was ok. Could be a little bit more friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, SC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awful - one of our worst dining experiences ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The restaurant menu proudly proclaims "The only thing we overlook is the river" - HOGWASH. This is the epitome of a tourist trap: terrible food at terribly inflated prices. We split a New England clam chowder, and it was so artificially thickened it was goopy. My husband's trout almondine was o.k. but cost $25; my so-called seafood crepes, supposedly made with "salmon, bay shrimp, crab, and scallops" were just plain wretched. The crepes were so doughy they were more like flour tortillas; there was more mediocre salmon than anything else; and the crab was the fake stuff! I couldn't believe it cost $26 for two utterly lousy, bogus crepes. The service was slow and the server surly. She acted like she loathed what she was doing. The only thing this place has going for it is its location on the river. There is a reason the ratings for this establishment are what they are; I only wish I'd read them before we went there. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. The Mexican restaurant by the Comfort Inn is much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring md
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We did not expect a white tablecloth restaurant right outside of Sequoia NP and were surprised when we walked in. We were seated immediately at a table overlooking the river--a beautiful setting. I had excellent trout and husband had delicious osso buco. Our only complaint was less than perfect service--had to hunt her down for water and a coffee refill. She never checked back after food was served and we were never told about the specials. In fairness, she was new and hopefully will improve with experience. I would recommend this restaurant although the prices were on the expensive side.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.