We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ..relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food ..relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great freshly prepared food and great atmosphere ... friendly staff ... try the clam chowder and rack of ribs ... so great

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burger was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We were very hungry after all day hiking and found this place. We ate at the river side. The food was very good. The best burger we had so far. The insects disturb us a lot so it is better to eat inside in the evening. The service was ok. Could be a little bit more friendly though.

Helpful?
Thank Sinem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awful - one of our worst dining experiences ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The restaurant menu proudly proclaims "The only thing we overlook is the river" - HOGWASH. This is the epitome of a tourist trap: terrible food at terribly inflated prices. We split a New England clam chowder, and it was so artificially thickened it was goopy. My husband's trout almondine was o.k. but cost $25; my so-called seafood crepes, supposedly made with "salmon, bay shrimp, crab, and scallops" were just plain wretched. The crepes were so doughy they were more like flour tortillas; there was more mediocre salmon than anything else; and the crab was the fake stuff! I couldn't believe it cost $26 for two utterly lousy, bogus crepes. The service was slow and the server surly. She acted like she loathed what she was doing. The only thing this place has going for it is its location on the river. There is a reason the ratings for this establishment are what they are; I only wish I'd read them before we went there. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. The Mexican restaurant by the Comfort Inn is much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pjrk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring md
Level Contributor
177 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We did not expect a white tablecloth restaurant right outside of Sequoia NP and were surprised when we walked in. We were seated immediately at a table overlooking the river--a beautiful setting. I had excellent trout and husband had delicious osso buco. Our only complaint was less than perfect service--had to hunt her down for water and a coffee refill. She never checked back after food was served and we were never told about the specials. In fairness, she was new and hopefully will improve with experience. I would recommend this restaurant although the prices were on the expensive side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location and Greatly Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was there with my wife and another couple.

Waitress was very nice, the Location was wonderful, windows overlooking stream and rocks.

The food was average at best, and the prices were over the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing