We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Greatly Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location and Greatly Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was there with my wife and another couple.

Waitress was very nice, the Location was wonderful, windows overlooking stream and rocks.

The food was average at best, and the prices were over the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Redwood City
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great meal in a small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from a great trip to Sequoia & Kings Canyon Nat'l Parks. Our last night had dinner at the Gateway Restaurant in Three Rivers, CA. Not many restaurant choices in this small town. The Gateway was a wonderful surprise. Great service & a beautiful location with outdoor seating facing the river. The food was very good and plentiful. Coming from the SF Bay Area I did not find the prices to be expensive for the quality of the food we received. I highly recommend the Gateway Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GailMRedwoodCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of Bread out of Calamari out of Baked Potato”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived on a Thurs night after a long drive in from LA. The gal and comfort inn recommended it. We got there at 8:00 Pm and were excited to eat there as we heard good things.
We sat on Balcony overlooking the river and ambience was very charming.
Now this place has fine dining prices so we expected a really good meal. The food was average and we were disappointed. Now granted they said they had had a busy day and were out of Baked Potato which they didn't tell us till 10 minutes after we placed the order for steak, Also out of Bread and calamari all the good stuff.
You think they might have offered us a complimentary coffee or dessert or something.. Nah

Everyone can have an off night I get it and can appreciate it .
I heard other people ate there and really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boxbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food with a river view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We sat on the deck and had a great river view. We enjoyed watching wildlife ( ducks, fish and possum) from the deck. We ordered escargot, rack of Lamb and halibut. The food was very good and our server recommended a really good wine pairing also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant - great but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the best restaurant for dinner that we have found in three rivers. The views from the outside seating is beautiful. The food we had was good but it is not cheap...... but what do you expect when not in a big city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing