We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northern California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“GREAT Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is an amazing gem of a restaurant right at the mouth of Sequoia Nat'l Park. I had the ribs (YUM), a Kobe burger (exceptional) and Brunch (WOW). I didn't like the calamari appetizer (chewy) or the fact the server put everything on my baked tater but other than that? FABULOUS.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    65
    44
    37
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gateway to a Great Evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Three Rivers is a delightful small town en route to Sequoia National Park. Who would expect such a fine restaurant amid this beautiful scenery and wild country? And yes, there are bears! It's just outside town with mountains and the rivers all around.A very warm welcome from Glen, really excellent food and the service of possibly the best waiter in the World. Devin, with his superb curly moustache quick wit and sharp intellect made this a memorable evening for us. My son and I had climbed Moro Rock that day, 8000ft up in Sequoia, so we were a little subdued with exhaustion.But the selection of mouth watering dishes and good wines soon livened us up. I only wish we could have been there during the day,however, it's beautifully lit outside and you can still appreciate your stunning surroundings.Very reasonably priced,and a must if you're in the area...even if you're not, go out of your way to enjoy, you wont regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“super food, good service and nice views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

super food, good service and nice views. We had a wonderful evening and recommend this place to every body.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel isles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As a single traveller I was made to feel so at home there, and I thought all the local people in the hotel and town very friendl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

From the moment I arrived I felt welcome, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great, and the accommodation was perfect for me. Glen and Susan the hosts were so welcoming and treated me like a friend. The sequoia national park entrance is only a couple of hundred metres up the road, and the park is a beautiful place for walking and the area is full with wildlife. The town is very spread out with interesting shops , and also good for breakfast and coffee if you want to eat in town, but the Gateway restaurant has lovely food, and you do not have to go out to eat. All in all, a fabulous place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had dined here a couple times before mostly because of the view from the patio. This time we called ahead for reservations for 6 people and requested to be seated outside on the patio. When we got to the restaurant, my husband and I walked past the employee at the bar and walked up to the sign that said "Please wait to be seated". The employee at the bar made a remark to the rest of our party asking if we were with their party and seemed perturbed that we walked past him. Regardless of our reservation, they seated us inside, claiming that they had a party of 30 outside. We would have gladly waited to be seated outside on the patio had they offered it to us because it was hot and stuffy inside. One of the people in our party checked the patio and found that the party of 30 was just leaving. The food was very overpriced and mediocre. The rolls were cold and not very tasty and and had a strong yeast smell. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.