We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting and....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice setting and....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very peaceful and relaxing setting on the river with great service. Unfortunately, somewhat pedestrian food quality and limited vegetarian options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    61
    40
    34
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

spectacular river view, special if sitting outside on the veranda.
Good food and friendly and fast service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The worst experience. The food is good, but over priced for dinner. The service was not very good. We kept asking our waiter for things, which he never brought. We had to ask the busser who was polite and prompt. After paying the waiter we noticed that we did not get our full change back, assuming he took his tip. We then went to our car. The waiter had followed us out, stood at the driver side window, crossed his arm, and stated, "was there something wrong with your service." Not wanting to list everything, we said no and told him we assumed he took the tip. He stated no. We then gave him five dollars (money he did not deserve). He then stated your bill was 118 dollars (obviously upset with his additional five dollars). He was very very unprofessional. I understand a waiter makes their money mainly through tips (my brother being a waiter for 8 years). However, you have to deserve it, we are not obliged to do so no matter what.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bad (tinned?) food for incredible prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had french onion soup as a starter, which I bet was a tinned one since a view days later I tried Cambells onion soupe which tasted exactly the same... coincidence, maybe or they simply served me a Cambells...I actually like Cambells but I don't want get it served in e restaurant and pay 8$ for that. As main Course I had housemade Tortelloni with sauce Alfredo. Sauce Alfredo was nothing else but a tasteless Sauce Bechamel (out of the can?) with parmesan cheese sprinkled above it... and that for 22$!!! Ridicolous!!
And yes the view is nice but does't jusify the prices for such a bad kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here after a day in the national park. We were seated on the patio area next to the river which was lovely. I would agree with some of the other posts that the decor could be updated but it certainly wasn't offensive. The food was great and well cooked but some of the items on the menu were a little pricey. There were two young members of staff filling up glasses with water and clearing the tables who were pleasant and very friendly however our waitress was sullen and had the attitude that we were an inconvenience which took the shine off it slightly. The restaurant certainly has some positives but could certainly improve some aspects of its service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.