We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad (tinned?) food for incredible prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad (tinned?) food for incredible prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had french onion soup as a starter, which I bet was a tinned one since a view days later I tried Cambells onion soupe which tasted exactly the same... coincidence, maybe or they simply served me a Cambells...I actually like Cambells but I don't want get it served in e restaurant and pay 8$ for that. As main Course I had housemade Tortelloni with sauce Alfredo. Sauce Alfredo was nothing else but a tasteless Sauce Bechamel (out of the can?) with parmesan cheese sprinkled above it... and that for 22$!!! Ridicolous!!
And yes the view is nice but does't jusify the prices for such a bad kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    57
    51
    35
    30
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here after a day in the national park. We were seated on the patio area next to the river which was lovely. I would agree with some of the other posts that the decor could be updated but it certainly wasn't offensive. The food was great and well cooked but some of the items on the menu were a little pricey. There were two young members of staff filling up glasses with water and clearing the tables who were pleasant and very friendly however our waitress was sullen and had the attitude that we were an inconvenience which took the shine off it slightly. The restaurant certainly has some positives but could certainly improve some aspects of its service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average food - wierd service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Seeing the adds for this resaurant's trout diiner we stopped in after a long day of hiking in Sequoia. At first blush the place looked inviting but our waitress had other ideas. After looking at the prices ($$$) we decided to go ahead and order the trout dinner at which time our waitress said they were out of that selection. My wife stated that the local Comfort Inn had recommended the dinner at which point the waitress said, " maybe that's why were out". So, my wife asked if there was something else she would recommend and the waitress said, " the management won't let us eat the food". Odd that a restaurant would prohibit the wait staff from trying food to recommend to customers. We aksed if she ate their on her own - the answer, " No". We ordered the $15 burger -

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant is one of the few in the area. A staff member of the Comfort Inn recommended this place. We had the bbq ribs,a house salad with chicken, a sandwhich and ice tea. Our bill was $77. Seems rather pricey for what we got and especially because the ribs had no flavor at all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic view but nothing more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The view is the thing. Beautiful setting right on the river and we enjoyed sitting outside. The menu seemed manageable for the area but the execution and quality were a huge miss. My steak was marinated to death and tasteless. Didn't think that any place could mess up a baked potato but they did. Service was slow. It took over 20 minutes to get our cocktails and almost 90 minutes for our food. Ordered an appetizer that was never delivered. Way too expensive for all of that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.