We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here after a day in the national park. We were seated on the patio area next to the river which was lovely. I would agree with some of the other posts that the decor could be updated but it certainly wasn't offensive. The food was great and well cooked but some of the items on the menu were a little pricey. There were two young members of staff filling up glasses with water and clearing the tables who were pleasant and very friendly however our waitress was sullen and had the attitude that we were an inconvenience which took the shine off it slightly. The restaurant certainly has some positives but could certainly improve some aspects of its service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    58
    39
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average food - wierd service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Seeing the adds for this resaurant's trout diiner we stopped in after a long day of hiking in Sequoia. At first blush the place looked inviting but our waitress had other ideas. After looking at the prices ($$$) we decided to go ahead and order the trout dinner at which time our waitress said they were out of that selection. My wife stated that the local Comfort Inn had recommended the dinner at which point the waitress said, " maybe that's why were out". So, my wife asked if there was something else she would recommend and the waitress said, " the management won't let us eat the food". Odd that a restaurant would prohibit the wait staff from trying food to recommend to customers. We aksed if she ate their on her own - the answer, " No". We ordered the $15 burger -

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant is one of the few in the area. A staff member of the Comfort Inn recommended this place. We had the bbq ribs,a house salad with chicken, a sandwhich and ice tea. Our bill was $77. Seems rather pricey for what we got and especially because the ribs had no flavor at all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic view but nothing more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The view is the thing. Beautiful setting right on the river and we enjoyed sitting outside. The menu seemed manageable for the area but the execution and quality were a huge miss. My steak was marinated to death and tasteless. Didn't think that any place could mess up a baked potato but they did. Service was slow. It took over 20 minutes to get our cocktails and almost 90 minutes for our food. Ordered an appetizer that was never delivered. Way too expensive for all of that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Is it still 1980?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Came here recently as it was recommended as the only "high-end" restaurant in Three Rivers. It was quite a drive out of Three Rivers almost to the gate of Sequoia NP, hence the name. There was a nice patio with a great view, but it was busy and instead we sat inside. The decor was very drab and seemed to be right out of a 1980's sitcom. The prices were "high-end" but the food certainly wasn't, very unimpressive. I had tomato soup to start and then the salmon. Two of us ordered soup and it came in small bowls with half the soup dripping down the outside of BOTH of the bowls! What happened to presentation? My salmon was fine, but nothing to write home about. The other mains were a bland pasta dish and a very chewy steak.

Recommendation: Go to the River View Restaurant & Lounge instead! Also has a nice patio with river view, but food is much better value! (See here in TripAdvisor)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.