We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it still 1980?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Is it still 1980?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Came here recently as it was recommended as the only "high-end" restaurant in Three Rivers. It was quite a drive out of Three Rivers almost to the gate of Sequoia NP, hence the name. There was a nice patio with a great view, but it was busy and instead we sat inside. The decor was very drab and seemed to be right out of a 1980's sitcom. The prices were "high-end" but the food certainly wasn't, very unimpressive. I had tomato soup to start and then the salmon. Two of us ordered soup and it came in small bowls with half the soup dripping down the outside of BOTH of the bowls! What happened to presentation? My salmon was fine, but nothing to write home about. The other mains were a bland pasta dish and a very chewy steak.

Recommendation: Go to the River View Restaurant & Lounge instead! Also has a nice patio with river view, but food is much better value! (See here in TripAdvisor)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    59
    51
    36
    30
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal; little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

They served a good proportioned meal that was excellent. Pricey, about $25 per meal; worth the price so long as we didn't have to eat there every night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
“Pathetic service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I don't Recommend this place to anybody . Food and service was bad .You're better off eating at McDonald's. Or the Serrano restaurant. The bread is very stale like prison inmate food.. The duck don't like the bread we fed them from the restaurant Either. The fish tank needs to be cleaned and the flies on the Window was outrageous. If I was white I probably would get better service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All about the waterfront patio...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As others have said, the service is lackluster (with the exception of one handsome waiter from North Carolina - see I even remember where he was from!)... Lunch prices are reasonable, dinner is not so much.

The reason to come here is for the waterfront patio. There is no view to match it for miles. Just gorgeous. Enjoy the ducks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service need a lot of work .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Waitress did not introduce herself.
As well as guy.
The order took to long . Waitress at least should have had Told us it will be at least a minute but Passing by and not acknowledge us. Group of seven . My family owns five restaurants an the number one thing is good service good employees and good food will bring more people back.
Invoice #1066.1. Day17spencer station 4 time 9.26 pm. And this hotel call comfort inn recommend it to us . Wow. Only good thing about this place is the view .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.