We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the waterfront patio...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pismo Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All about the waterfront patio...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As others have said, the service is lackluster (with the exception of one handsome waiter from North Carolina - see I even remember where he was from!)... Lunch prices are reasonable, dinner is not so much.

The reason to come here is for the waterfront patio. There is no view to match it for miles. Just gorgeous. Enjoy the ducks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    38
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service need a lot of work .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Waitress did not introduce herself.
As well as guy.
The order took to long . Waitress at least should have had Told us it will be at least a minute but Passing by and not acknowledge us. Group of seven . My family owns five restaurants an the number one thing is good service good employees and good food will bring more people back.
Invoice #1066.1. Day17spencer station 4 time 9.26 pm. And this hotel call comfort inn recommend it to us . Wow. Only good thing about this place is the view .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Your paying for the view!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Patio dining view is AMAZING... right on the water.
Service was so-so. I was charged for something I didn't order. Owner was very nice though
Worst rib eye steak I've ever had.
EXPENSIVE!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow, what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We got a recommendation from a local on where to eat while driving through here. Can not thank her enough! We were quickly greeted and asked if we would like to sit outside on the patio. It was a sunny warm day so we I said yes. It was beautiful! The view of the river and trees was just wonderful, and the ducks, birds and fish were very entertaining. We ordered a BLT on wheat with cole slaw, and a Cub on sourdough with French fries, and diet cokes. The food arrived quickly and was soooo tasty. I think my husband ate the cole slaw in one breath. Everything was fresh and crisp, bacon was cooked perfectly, and the French fries were hot. We had planned to stop for a quick meal, but got so much more. It was so relaxing with such good food and scenery we didn't want to leave, and there was no rushing you out. They tell you take your time, leave whenever you are ready. We would highly recommend the Gateway to anyone going to or through Three Rivers. Food was great, service was wonderful, and the view was to magnificent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice experience - great surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The clerk at our hotel suggested this restaurant and we were pleased we followed her lead! We ate on the patio riverside and enjoyed the running waters. The food was good, service was lovely. I had salmon that was wonderfully prepared, my husband's favorite item was the chocolate lava cake. I'd definitely eat here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.