We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected fancy eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected fancy eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found this restaurant listed in the motel directory. They listed vegetarian options. We ended up eating there twice during a three-day stay in Three Rivers.

The restaurant overlooks part of the Kaweah River. The outside eating area is actually over the river. It was an awesome place to eat and watch the swiftly flowing waters of the river.

The food was delicious and well-presented. The service was fast and helpful.

We were surprised to find such a fancy menu in the small town of Three Rivers. If we ever go back to Three Rivers we'll be sure and eat her again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    56
    48
    33
    28
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beatiful view and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our dinner here was very nice. The food and service were well done. We sat outside by the river and enjoyed the sounds of the water and birds. It was a very nice experience and I would go there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a very pleasant surprise!! The restaurant was recommended by the desk staff at the hotel we stayed at. Driving up, it looks like a bar. Once you get inside, there is a bar area but the dining area has white table cloths and it even has outdoor seating next to the river. We chose to be out by the river and it was wonderful! The food is on the upper end, but well worth it. We had a slab of ribs and shared it between us - and ended up taking some home! BEST RIBS EVER!! All the other food we saw being served looked just as good. You can go casual (we were wearing jeans and sweatshirts) but it is definitely a great place to go. Highly recommended!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good service andoofod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Food was good, service excellent, Nice view. We thinking THE best there is. Best you just chose for à steak, you recieven also some soup and salad

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Place to go when you need food to eat near your lodging. Small town place, nothing super special. Bar was alright and bartender was fine to talk to. Local crowd was a little off..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.