We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beatiful view and dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A beatiful view and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our dinner here was very nice. The food and service were well done. We sat outside by the river and enjoyed the sounds of the water and birds. It was a very nice experience and I would go there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    58
    39
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a very pleasant surprise!! The restaurant was recommended by the desk staff at the hotel we stayed at. Driving up, it looks like a bar. Once you get inside, there is a bar area but the dining area has white table cloths and it even has outdoor seating next to the river. We chose to be out by the river and it was wonderful! The food is on the upper end, but well worth it. We had a slab of ribs and shared it between us - and ended up taking some home! BEST RIBS EVER!! All the other food we saw being served looked just as good. You can go casual (we were wearing jeans and sweatshirts) but it is definitely a great place to go. Highly recommended!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good service andoofod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Food was good, service excellent, Nice view. We thinking THE best there is. Best you just chose for à steak, you recieven also some soup and salad

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Place to go when you need food to eat near your lodging. Small town place, nothing super special. Bar was alright and bartender was fine to talk to. Local crowd was a little off..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Location, High Prices, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Agree with another viewer, Don't bother. We checked out their "honeymoon cabin" and it was dirty, small and awful, all for only $148/night plus tax. No thanks.

We ate two meals at the restaurant, being somewhat location dependent, being on motorcycles and not wanting to ride back into town, (granted, only a few miles), for dinner. FYI - No pizza delivery in Three Rivers.

Dinner prices are expensive, the "special" that night was a 12 oz ribeye for $32.95. We passed on that and got a chicken pasta dish that was simply ok, but hardly worth the price we paid. And they charge an additional fee if you split an entree as well.

Breakfast was no better. Burnt muffins with a layer of black on the bottom and obvious burned edges on top. The bacon was very nice, tasty and crisp, as asked for. The chicken fried steak BREAKFAST came with mashed potatoes and thin, tasteless gravy. My wife asked what potatoes came with her ordered two eggs, bacon and potatoes and was told hashbrowns, which came a bit overdone, but I foolishly expected the same for the chicken fried steak. Not so.

The "mixed fruit" that came with the breakfasts was half a strawberry, two small chunks of pineapple, and a single small chunk of cantaloupe. Not bad, but hardly worth a mention on the menu.

To their credit, they did well to manage a group that called ahead and while the service was certainly not bad, it wasn't what you would expect at those prices either. The smallish bar can get loud in the evenings, but appeared to be pleasantly full service. Champagne was on the menu for breakfast, (Crystal and another), which would have appealed had we not been riding motorcycles that morning.

Over all, we would not return to this restaurant, or consider the lodging here. Far too spendy for what is offered. Instead, we would stay closer to town and enjoy the variety of restaurants there, at significantly lower prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.