We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 12 restaurants in Three Rivers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in a motel next door for three nights. We ate here the first night because it was close and the menu looked interesting. Million dollar view, very good wait staff, average food, overpriced, drove the 12 miles round trip into Three Rivers the other two nights. What more can I say!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    49
    41
    31
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a gem !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would highly recommend the Gateway Restaurant and Lodge for a wonderful dining experience. Even though prices are slightly high but..because of the location, one can truly understand. Everything was top notch.. the food and the service ! The Clam Chowder was delicious as well as the Marsala Pasta. The service was professional ! Thank you Devin for taking such good care of us ! This restaurant is a 5 stars in my book and a definitely must !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Steak & Wine in Sequoia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having read trip advisor reviews of the Gateway Restaurant, four of us booked room at the completion of a ride over Sherman Pass. Glen, the owner made it a point to visit with us at the very well stocked bar before we went in to dinner. We all had the steak special, which was indeed something special. Our waiter was very helpful in selecting a local wine. After dinner we had a drink of good grappa from the bar. All in all, a very special evening at a very special place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth doing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Sit outside. That's what makes it all worthwhile. The view is amazing. Nice menu selection; food well-prepared and presented. Good wine list. Just accept that you are paying extra for the ambiance. Casual dress is perfectly ok.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sit outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The go to place for sitting by the river. But you must sit outside, walk past the warm tables, and listen to the river. Nice granite boulders, good coffee. The menu is OK. The service Meh. The view extraordinare.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.