We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
559-561-4133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a gem !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would highly recommend the Gateway Restaurant and Lodge for a wonderful dining experience. Even though prices are slightly high but..because of the location, one can truly understand. Everything was top notch.. the food and the service ! The Clam Chowder was delicious as well as the Marsala Pasta. The service was professional ! Thank you Devin for taking such good care of us ! This restaurant is a 5 stars in my book and a definitely must !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northern California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Steak & Wine in Sequoia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having read trip advisor reviews of the Gateway Restaurant, four of us booked room at the completion of a ride over Sherman Pass. Glen, the owner made it a point to visit with us at the very well stocked bar before we went in to dinner. We all had the steak special, which was indeed something special. Our waiter was very helpful in selecting a local wine. After dinner we had a drink of good grappa from the bar. All in all, a very special evening at a very special place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth doing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Sit outside. That's what makes it all worthwhile. The view is amazing. Nice menu selection; food well-prepared and presented. Good wine list. Just accept that you are paying extra for the ambiance. Casual dress is perfectly ok.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GypsyRoverPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sit outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The go to place for sitting by the river. But you must sit outside, walk past the warm tables, and listen to the river. Nice granite boulders, good coffee. The menu is OK. The service Meh. The view extraordinare.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good, but a bit pricy...for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food was excellent and the menu varied. Just a bit pricy for OUR tastes, but the only game in town. Service, facilities and quality was fine all 'round.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WBrecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing