We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The view is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as our base for exploring Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. We throughly enjoyed the Buckeye. Everyone was so helpful and the view is tremendous. It was so relaxing on the patio watching and listening to the river.we almost did not want to go explore the parks. It was wonderful to sleep. The muffins and juice was a nice touch. It could use a bit updating, but that was not important compared to the rest of the atmosphere. Go to the Riverview for dinner back down the road. It was reasonable and they had a fabulous oldies duet-"Blast from the Past" that was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fresno, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We booked the mini king suite in desperate need of a relaxing getaway. We got it. The roaring river and the lawn in front is perfect for relaxing on a blanket or at the tables and grill provided. We sat on the shared deck and watched a family of deer graze across the river as the sun went down. Falling asleep to the sound of the river was heavenly. And the blooming trees and flowers and even resident kitties wandering around made the trip for us.

The decor is a tad dated, but we didn't care. Everything else was wonderful. The lodge even rents vhs tape for a buck or two.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Just what the doctor ordered! Hard to believe this little haven of natural splendor is only a 3 hour drive from home in N. Los Angeles county. The view of the river from the rooms is splendid and the sound of the rushing current does wonders to lower the blood pressure and put one at ease. I spent 3 nights here and found the accomodations perfect for my needs. The rooms are small but include everything you would need to be comfortable. The microwave and mini fridge were nice and convenient. The bed was firm and commfy. At 6'4" the shower head was a bit too low but hey, they had hot water!!

I was up there to write and it was a perfect setting for quieting the mind and letting out 'the things we think but do not say.' At less than $90 per night this place is a steal. Victoria and Caroline at the front dest were great and the cleaning staff were efficient and I appreciated the morning muffins and juice. I had expected to bring my little dog and they left two dog biscuits in the room for it!

The adjacent restaurant has terrific river views with friendly servers but is a bit too expensive for the area--they are definitely charging for the view and lack of competition but the food is tasty atleast. Enjoy your trip and do not miss the giant forest.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talldarkhandsomest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We were visiting Sequoia park during Septmber 2008 and found this hotel via the Tripadvisor site. The hotel is greatly located, near to the entrance of the park. At the backside of the hotel one has a very nice view on a river and on the mountains of the park. The rooms are clean, though a bit "outdated", but who cares the surroundings are great and one is just a step away from the park!!
So if you want to stay a day or two near to the Sequoia Park then you will have a good hotel at a great location for no money!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

good location just minutes from the entrance of the park we had a nice clean room, the lady at the very small reception was very busy at our arrival so we hardly spoke her, the phone did not stop ringing when we arrived (perhaps she had to make some more time for her guests i dont know, later we brought her some strawberries, i hope she liked it) it is a very small hotel, looks old but very cosy we had a great time, the location in the beatifull nature is top! be aware of the reastaurant (not of the hotel) nearby, it was a rip off(!) and food was not good

  • Liked — the location the ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This motel is only a mile or so from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. I had a room on the top floor which is a
good size with a king size bed and included a fridge,TV & video, microwave and air-con. There is also a door which
leads out to a shared balcony which has an amazing view over a stream which runs through the hotel grounds. There is
also a pool here as well, and also free wi-fi.There is a (pricy) restaurant next door, or you can drive about 6 miles down the road to other places such as a pizza place or mexican.
This is a really nice place to stay and the friendly greeting and local knowledge from Victoria was second to none.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dave95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

My wife made the reservation to stay at this lodge after our two day sojourn through Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. She picked it because it was fairly cheap and close to the entrance. Driving up to the place we were pleased by just how very close it was to the entrance. It has a very quaint mid-20th century look. The room was clean and adequate, but when we opened the sliding glass doors to the back, our jaws dropped. AMAZING view of the most beautiful Sierra boulder strewn river. Gorgeous lawns extend down to the picture perfect stream. Ansel Adams would have loved to take a picture of this view! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant next door had seating with the same amazing view. We decided to come back in the spring to see the river when it is a Class 4 Rapids destination.

  • Liked — Access to the river and to the entrance of Sequoia National Park
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chemnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing