We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for lazy days by the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, CA
1 review
“Perfect for lazy days by the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We booked the mini king suite in desperate need of a relaxing getaway. We got it. The roaring river and the lawn in front is perfect for relaxing on a blanket or at the tables and grill provided. We sat on the shared deck and watched a family of deer graze across the river as the sun went down. Falling asleep to the sound of the river was heavenly. And the blooming trees and flowers and even resident kitties wandering around made the trip for us.

The decor is a tad dated, but we didn't care. Everything else was wonderful. The lodge even rents vhs tape for a buck or two.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Just what the doctor ordered! Hard to believe this little haven of natural splendor is only a 3 hour drive from home in N. Los Angeles county. The view of the river from the rooms is splendid and the sound of the rushing current does wonders to lower the blood pressure and put one at ease. I spent 3 nights here and found the accomodations perfect for my needs. The rooms are small but include everything you would need to be comfortable. The microwave and mini fridge were nice and convenient. The bed was firm and commfy. At 6'4" the shower head was a bit too low but hey, they had hot water!!

I was up there to write and it was a perfect setting for quieting the mind and letting out 'the things we think but do not say.' At less than $90 per night this place is a steal. Victoria and Caroline at the front dest were great and the cleaning staff were efficient and I appreciated the morning muffins and juice. I had expected to bring my little dog and they left two dog biscuits in the room for it!

The adjacent restaurant has terrific river views with friendly servers but is a bit too expensive for the area--they are definitely charging for the view and lack of competition but the food is tasty atleast. Enjoy your trip and do not miss the giant forest.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We were visiting Sequoia park during Septmber 2008 and found this hotel via the Tripadvisor site. The hotel is greatly located, near to the entrance of the park. At the backside of the hotel one has a very nice view on a river and on the mountains of the park. The rooms are clean, though a bit "outdated", but who cares the surroundings are great and one is just a step away from the park!!
So if you want to stay a day or two near to the Sequoia Park then you will have a good hotel at a great location for no money!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

good location just minutes from the entrance of the park we had a nice clean room, the lady at the very small reception was very busy at our arrival so we hardly spoke her, the phone did not stop ringing when we arrived (perhaps she had to make some more time for her guests i dont know, later we brought her some strawberries, i hope she liked it) it is a very small hotel, looks old but very cosy we had a great time, the location in the beatifull nature is top! be aware of the reastaurant (not of the hotel) nearby, it was a rip off(!) and food was not good

  • Liked — the location the ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

This motel is only a mile or so from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. I had a room on the top floor which is a
good size with a king size bed and included a fridge,TV & video, microwave and air-con. There is also a door which
leads out to a shared balcony which has an amazing view over a stream which runs through the hotel grounds. There is
also a pool here as well, and also free wi-fi.There is a (pricy) restaurant next door, or you can drive about 6 miles down the road to other places such as a pizza place or mexican.
This is a really nice place to stay and the friendly greeting and local knowledge from Victoria was second to none.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

My wife made the reservation to stay at this lodge after our two day sojourn through Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. She picked it because it was fairly cheap and close to the entrance. Driving up to the place we were pleased by just how very close it was to the entrance. It has a very quaint mid-20th century look. The room was clean and adequate, but when we opened the sliding glass doors to the back, our jaws dropped. AMAZING view of the most beautiful Sierra boulder strewn river. Gorgeous lawns extend down to the picture perfect stream. Ansel Adams would have loved to take a picture of this view! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant next door had seating with the same amazing view. We decided to come back in the spring to see the river when it is a Class 4 Rapids destination.

  • Liked — Access to the river and to the entrance of Sequoia National Park
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We had a "king suite" on the second floor, which was a good-sized room and had a refrigerator. The room, however, was drab and depressing. Decor could be described as "brown". Everything was brown and old.

It would have been nice to be able to open the windows to listen to the nearby river and to let in some fresh air (badly needed in the room), but this was not possible. Noise from the other rooms' air conditioners was incredible. Ours was not on, and would not have been needed if we could have opened the windows. And when we opened the windows on the other side of the room facing the river, cigarette smoke from people out on the common balcony would come in, so no luck there either.

The bed was comfortable, and the river was nice. The rooms are in bad need of updating.

  • Liked — Location - near park and on river
  • Disliked — The room was not very nice.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.