We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - very dated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Bottrop, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location - very dated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Right off the entrance gate to Sequoia, an hour drive to the main sights. Nicely overlooking the river with some pretty mountains around. Nice pool which the kids enjoyed. We had a mother bear with two cubs in the parking lot which was amazing. Rooms however were quite dated - 70ies style - but clean. No real breakfast just some prepacked muffins which we did not touch. You can grind your own coffee which we enjoyed, a fridge is also available. We did not mind the dated room too much but felt it was somewhat overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    89
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We are a family of 5 just returning from our trip to se sequoia national park and we stayed one night at buckeye. We loved it! Our room was more spacious than any best western or related motel. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was as well. They provided fresh coffee beans and grinder to make yourself a fresh pot of coffee along with a welcoming basket with pasteries, fresh local fruit(the peach was the best I've had this season). Exiting from the back door if the room we where pleasantly surprised at the picnic area with bbq and tree swing that my daughter loved....rite by that is a running river that was so peaceful and lovely. It was hot so it was nice to come into an air conditioned room and have the peaceful stream and refreshing pool right next to our room! The staff was also very helpful and nice. This hotel is about 1 min away from the park entrance(just another added perk). So we could go and explore at anytime if the day or night! :-) I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be staying again.....one night just was not long enough....thank you for adding to or experience :-)!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Buckeye Lodge was recommended in Fodors and well rated on Trip Advisor and other sites. I was a bit surprised when we checked in and both the exterior and interior were cement block. (I don't think I have stayed in a cement block room since college!) The pool looked very nice, although we arrived too late to use it, staff were helpful, and the setting was lovely. Grounds were nicely landscaped and overlooked a small river, rocks, cow fields and mountains.

If you plan to cook the only grocery store within miles has a good meat section but overall is very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from the main parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just outside the entrance to Sequoia National Park. A nice room with pine paneling and pine furniture, and a balcony that overlooks the rushing Kaweah river. At check in I got a basket with fruit and muffins for the following day's breakfast. It had all the amenities -- microwave, refrigerator, coffee machine, free wifi, -- and yet still managed to give an atmosphere of a rustic mountain lodge. Very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring md
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The rooms here are small, but have all the usual amenities--mini frige, microwave, coffee maker and grinder(coffee beans are provided and you grind your own), TV, and free WiFi. What sets this place apart is the location( right outside of Sequoia NP) and the beautiful grounds. A patio is a step outside the door and it overlooks the river. Native plants abound. Birds and waterfowl are everywhere. It was pure joy to sit on the patio listening to water rush over rocks, smelling the scent of flowers in bloom, and watching hummingbirds, ducks, and even a blue heron. There are grills and a large swimming pool for guests use. A breakfast basket was provided at check in which contained fruit and pastries. I would return to Buckeye Tree over and over again.

Room Tip: I like the patio rooms on the first floor rather than the second floor rooms (no elevator) with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This turned out to be a pefect choice for the end of our trip. The location is excellent and its situation with views of the river is particularly pleasant. The staff were extremely helpful with recommendations and advice. There is a restaurant next to the lodge which offers a varied menu of good quality and is reasonably priced. The only disappointment with Buckeye lodge is the provision of breakfast that is left in the room. It could benefit by leaving out the bun and muffin and providing a healthier package. However, we would be more than happy to return on a future occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for only one night, in the Blossom cabin, on the way to Sequoia National Park. It was a great location, great atmosphere. Quiet, relaxing, and a little garden next to river with a tree swing was icing on the cake. It's on my list of places to return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.