We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were going to stop in the sequoia national park but luckily it was booked out. Found this little motel just outside the park at more than half the price. The room we had was a double queen with heaps of room, it has a separate little alcove for eating, with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee grinder and beans, and percolator. We were lucky to get a room that overlooked the river and the morning vista from the breakfast table was great.

Although we had a second floor unit, it was easily accessed by a small ramp..no stairs.

We were given a breakfast hamper when we checked in, with fruit, juice muffins and pastry. Better than having to go to a breakfast room. It was more leisurely

We only have one complaint and that was the housekeeping knocking on the door at 8.15 even though the do not disturb sign was on the door and our car was parked outside the room.

Room Tip: We had room 8 overlooking the river, although on the main road noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's the first motel in 5 weeks that has a recycle bin in the room.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    86
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
100
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed its excellent access to the National Park - the entrance of which is only 5 minutes drive away. The property has a pleasant location on a riverand some rooms actually overlook it. Our cottage was on the other side of the road. It was very clean and well appointed andhad a pleasant outdoor seating area. Staff were very helpful with things like decaffinated coffee and extra wine glasses. There is a very nice outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Being close to the river would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Price wasn't too expensive, it made sense to stop outside of the park and start early the next day rather than pay the inflated prices for accommodation in the park. Room was a bit dated but Ok for the price.

Note there's not a great deal of choice for dinner locally, either it's expensive or not very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is ideally located for the national parks - only about 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia. This makes it perfect for early starts, beating the crowds in the parks. It does mean that Three Rivers (which is very spread out anyway) is quite a way away, but there are good restaurants nearby.

The accommodation is slightly old but not shabby, and the rooms are very spacious, offering all you need for a comfortable sleep (big bed, air con & fan, coffee-making facilities, good TV). Additionally, there is a very nice little swimming pool with loungers out front.

The best thing though is the views of the valley and hills, and the river out back, which offers great wading, dipping, and sunbathing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodge over the Labour day weekend for 4 nights. I could not recommend this place highly enough. I stayed as part of a road trip and this was by far one of the best rooms I stayed in and I was paying on average $150-250 per night everywhere I stayed. The room was large with flat screen TV, microwave, coffee grinder and fresh coffee beans, fridge, table and chairs, settee.Not to mention 0.5 miles from park entrance and fab view of the river. We had a bit of a nightmare when we stayed due to the yosemite rim fire and had to change some plans, the owners could not have been friendlier lending us maps, national park books and hiking books they even called me in the room to give me ideas of where to go hiking in sequoia! Overall a fantastic experience with fantastic owners. I would also highly recommend the Gateway restaurant next door. Excellent food, view of the river and staff not to mention the great wine list, had the best wine there during my whole 3 week stay in California.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of our road trip. We chose to stay here based on its location near to Sequoia. It is in the middle of nowhere and not much around in terms of eating out. The hotel itself is nice, the pool looked great and refreshing in the heat however we didn't have time to use it. The room itself is dated but clean. The breakfast is not much, the Danish looked sweaty and artificial and the fruit included one lemon. The drinks were a nice touch but would have been better left in the fridge. The only thing we appreciated was the one muffin which was delicious. I agree that outside was disrupted due to smokers below. The grounds are nice and it was great access to Sequoia. Service was fine.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper floor, seemed better since cars parked in front of the lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Buckeye Tree Lodge, which is situated just before the Sequoia National Park entrance.

Having on the one hand the ambiance of a cabin, while at the same time enjoying the luxuries of A/C , a nice TV and a bathroom was a very agreeable combination for us. The bed was comfortable as well.

The river behind the lodge was great to cool off, especially during the hot and humid weather we had at the time.

The breakfast, here criticized by many people, we thought was just right to get you started in a day of Park exploration. To grind your own coffee was actually pretty neat and you were assured that it tasted fresh.
It was also very nice to eat your breakfast outside at the garden table, while enjoying the view on the river and the landscape.

As mentioned above, the proximity to the park’s entrance is also a major plus point.

All in all, we can definitely recommend this place if you’re visiting Sequoia National Park!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.