We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Sequoia National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay, located just outside the Sequoia national park, the rooms are a little dated in decor and breakfast wasn't the best, but the views were fab outside. You look right out onto a river and wild American landscape. Very relaxing, the pool was great, and look out for bears as they do wander through the grounds at night! The best bit, is having freshly brewed coffee outside your room first thing in the morning, with views of the river and wilderness, lovely! For that reason, it gets my vote!

Room Tip: The Air conditioning can be a little noisy, but I'd recommend staying on the ground floor lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    108
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
69
122
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In he middle of nowhere, there is suddenly the little town Three Rivers. Along the highway you find this hotel. From the front is doesn't look like much, but the back is great. A nice garden along a little river. Nice rooms, no breakfast. A good place to use as base for a trip towards the sequoia park

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is in a beautiful location with the river running directly behind it. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable but a little dated. I haven't seen a shower this old for years however it worked very well, although I have had better quality towels at cheaper motels. There were some very thoughtful touches such as a night light in the bathroom and fresh coffee beans and grinder. However there was only powdered milk to accompany it which was strange seeing as they gone to the trouble of providing fresh coffee, fresh milk would of course have worked much better and there was a fridge for it too. There was also a microwave in the room. The downstairs rooms have a large patio window opening out onto a shared patio. It is an idylic setting overlooking the river and the mountains. There is free wifi but it logs out quickly. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. I would have given this 5 if it had been a no smoking establishment. Unfortunately it isn't and it really isn't pleasant to sit outside with your very close neighbour polluting the clean fresh air. If this doesn't bother you though, I would recommend staying in this most lovely of locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We packed my family plus extended family into the Glacier cabin in July 2013. The cabin is very cramped with the living room, dinning room and kitchen all jammed into the same room. There are plenty of beds to sleep, you could probably squeeze in about 14 people sharing beds if needed. But there isn't much space beyond the bedrooms. Eating, moving around and bathrooms would be a problem with anything over 8 people. The floors were very dirty upon arrival, forcing me to wear flip flops in the cabin. The positives are the location right next to the park and the proximity to the pool. Also, parking might be an issue; the lot for multiple cabins is parry small. I'm not sure what else in the area but it might just be worth the extra cost to stay in the park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Glacier Cabin
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a recycle bin but nothing much beyond that.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Buckeye Tree last September during our road trip around california. The rooms are a little dated but who cares as the location and river views make up for it. We spent my ost of our time out on the balcony looking at the river view and watching humming birds. The breakfast basket was enough to set you off for the day and the coffee grinder certainly got some use. The staff were friendly and let us check in early. Definately one to come back to if we visit california again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I can see why prior reviews were mostly positive but mixed. It's a great location right outside the southern entrance to Sequoia National Park, along the main road, but the setting on the river overcomes any road noise. Breakfast basket had some nice fruit. Everything worked well, including an HD TV with a massive number of channels. WiFi was a mystery, never quite worked over the two days we were there, but the hosts let us use their guest computer in the office. Our room (king mini suite) was one reasonably big room with a nice window that looked out on the river. It's an older property and has some deferred maintenance, but nothing serious. We ate breakfast at a picnic table set right on the rocks by the river, that was a big highlight out back. For the price (about $250 for two nights), it was valuable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staying here tonight after a couple of days in Kings and Sequoia parks on our 3 week road trip. Our end unit is nice, clean and has what you need. Well thought out things like a coffee bean grinder, a breakfast basket,small fridge and working wifi make it comfortable. The room overlooks the small river that is really beautiful. Nice plants, trees, grills to use and chairs make for a relaxing space to enjoy a glass of wine before diner or coffee in the morning. This is not chain and it is not new but very clean. We had a warm and friendly welcome stay here again when traveling in the area.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, try to get room #1
See more room tips
Green Features: They have cfl bulbs, recycling, conservation reminders
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.