We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean & comfortable if a little dated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean & comfortable if a little dated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is in a beautiful location with the river running directly behind it. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable but a little dated. I haven't seen a shower this old for years however it worked very well, although I have had better quality towels at cheaper motels. There were some very thoughtful touches such as a night light in the bathroom and fresh coffee beans and grinder. However there was only powdered milk to accompany it which was strange seeing as they gone to the trouble of providing fresh coffee, fresh milk would of course have worked much better and there was a fridge for it too. There was also a microwave in the room. The downstairs rooms have a large patio window opening out onto a shared patio. It is an idylic setting overlooking the river and the mountains. There is free wifi but it logs out quickly. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. I would have given this 5 if it had been a no smoking establishment. Unfortunately it isn't and it really isn't pleasant to sit outside with your very close neighbour polluting the clean fresh air. If this doesn't bother you though, I would recommend staying in this most lovely of locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
50
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We packed my family plus extended family into the Glacier cabin in July 2013. The cabin is very cramped with the living room, dinning room and kitchen all jammed into the same room. There are plenty of beds to sleep, you could probably squeeze in about 14 people sharing beds if needed. But there isn't much space beyond the bedrooms. Eating, moving around and bathrooms would be a problem with anything over 8 people. The floors were very dirty upon arrival, forcing me to wear flip flops in the cabin. The positives are the location right next to the park and the proximity to the pool. Also, parking might be an issue; the lot for multiple cabins is parry small. I'm not sure what else in the area but it might just be worth the extra cost to stay in the park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Glacier Cabin
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a recycle bin but nothing much beyond that.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Buckeye Tree last September during our road trip around california. The rooms are a little dated but who cares as the location and river views make up for it. We spent my ost of our time out on the balcony looking at the river view and watching humming birds. The breakfast basket was enough to set you off for the day and the coffee grinder certainly got some use. The staff were friendly and let us check in early. Definately one to come back to if we visit california again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I can see why prior reviews were mostly positive but mixed. It's a great location right outside the southern entrance to Sequoia National Park, along the main road, but the setting on the river overcomes any road noise. Breakfast basket had some nice fruit. Everything worked well, including an HD TV with a massive number of channels. WiFi was a mystery, never quite worked over the two days we were there, but the hosts let us use their guest computer in the office. Our room (king mini suite) was one reasonably big room with a nice window that looked out on the river. It's an older property and has some deferred maintenance, but nothing serious. We ate breakfast at a picnic table set right on the rocks by the river, that was a big highlight out back. For the price (about $250 for two nights), it was valuable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staying here tonight after a couple of days in Kings and Sequoia parks on our 3 week road trip. Our end unit is nice, clean and has what you need. Well thought out things like a coffee bean grinder, a breakfast basket,small fridge and working wifi make it comfortable. The room overlooks the small river that is really beautiful. Nice plants, trees, grills to use and chairs make for a relaxing space to enjoy a glass of wine before diner or coffee in the morning. This is not chain and it is not new but very clean. We had a warm and friendly welcome stay here again when traveling in the area.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, try to get room #1
See more room tips
Green Features: They have cfl bulbs, recycling, conservation reminders
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Buckeye Tree Lodge was a very nice and very convenient place to stay 1/4 mile from the South Entrance of Sequoia National Park. We could open our windows in the evening and morning to the sound of the river. Temperature in Three Rivers were 90-110 in June, so the Air Conditioner was a must and did a good job. The ceiling fan was a blessing too! Although we were right on the Highway to Sequoia National Park, there was almost no traffic all night, so traffic noise was not an issue. They had a nice pool which was welcome relief from the heat. One window screen was loose, so the night bugs (gnats) got in one night. The refrigerator was small, but we made do. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. Also, there was an excellent but not cheap restaurant next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nice and relaxing older lodge. we really enjoyed the outside patio overlooking the beautiful stream. I loved the friendly staff and the morning breakfast basket. it was nice to have a fridge, microwave, and grind our own coffee.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list