We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nice and relaxing older lodge. we really enjoyed the outside patio overlooking the beautiful stream. I loved the friendly staff and the morning breakfast basket. it was nice to have a fridge, microwave, and grind our own coffee.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The best thing about his lodge is that it is extremely close to Sequoia National Park. It does have lovely landscaping and is next to a river. Their website says, "With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are simply spectacular." Well, we couldn't see it from our room. When we went outside, however, and walked toward some rocks near the river, we could see it. The river is very pretty, and there were numerous flowering plants near our room. We also saw a couple lizards, which was exciting for us!

The room itself, however, was very squashed and outdated. Ours had 2 beds and a kitchenette ("2 Queen Kitchenette" room on website). There wasn't enough room to put our suitcases (there were 5 of us), which was pretty inconvenient. The bathroom left a lot to be desired, and the kitchen part was very old and outdated. The window screens were bent and in bad shape, and some of the walls and doors were scrungy looking.

They do leave you a small breakfast - 1 muffin/sweet roll per person and fruit. The second night they only left enough for 4 people, but we managed to survive.

Sequoia National Park itself is GREAT!

You could probably stay a little farther out and get nicer accommodations. But if your sole purpose is to stay close to the park, this might work for you. In other locations, it surely would not be worth the price they charge because of the poor condition of the rooms. I would rate it as a 1-1/2 star motel. If they remodeled, I'm sure it would be much nicer. I really recommend to them that they remodel!

Room Tip: There were steps even to get to the lower level, so if you have accessibility needs, check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in the eagle cabin and it was $160 +tax. Thankfully they were booked the previous night so we didn't locked in to more money at this place. Maybe Eagle is in worse shape than the others, but the price didn't indicate that. It was very old and shabby, with dirty cushions, very old and worn furniture, aluminum foil on the burners of the tiny stove. The whole thing looked like the inside of a camper from the early 1980's. "Patio" was a small cement slab facing water tanks with plastic chairs. Not too scenic. It also reeked of pinesol or some other cleaner, which got everyone's nose itchy and runny, including my 8-month old baby. Not a restful night. For the price, I'd think they could afford to update a little, or at least replace broken chairs, fix lamps, etc.

We were very disappointed with our experience. Staff and attitude of the place was not too friendly. Not planning to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thanks to reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to stay at this hotel. Am I glad I did! To say it is charming is an understatement! Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking the running river. Such a delight to sit on balcony and listen to it with a hot cup of coffee (fresh beans provided) or a glass of wine. We had the added treat of a wren's nest above the light fixture and got to watch mama bringing in bugs to the baby. Then later, sleeping to mountain air and the sound of the river. Very relaxing! Staff friendly and helpful. There's a nice restaurant next door with good food, but a bit pricey...paying for that river view. It's not open for breakfast. For breakfast, go to Three Rivers...about 5 miles back...which is where the gas is too. The hotel is almost at Sequoia's south entrance. The only thing I'd have liked is better lighting...rooms are a little dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting sequoia national park. The lodge is located near the entrance of the park.
We had a king bed in our room. Yes the place looks old but we had a relaxing time here. Sitting in the garden by the river was cool.
They bake fresh muffins for your breakfast basket with include fruits and juice as well. There is also a microwave and fridge in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place was built lone ago, but it is well maintained. Room was cleaned well and the linens were fresh. Internet was usless as was phone reception, so it made for a great time where folks had no idea where we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Though a little on the older side, was in good condition and we had a great view of the river area right from our window. Perfect to sleep to the sound of the river! One downside was the internet. They gave us the code to their wifi but we couldn't connect I'm assuming since we were the furthest room from the main lobby. But we were after all on an outdoor trip so not being connected wasn't the worst thing. The lobby computer was always available for use if needed and all calls from our room to anywhere in the US were free. They also had coffee with a grinder, microwave, and stocked our room everyday with fresh fruits, juice, and homemade MUFFINS. so cute! The lobby staff was also very friendly and it's stocked with movies, games and guide books.
The location as I said was awesome with the nearby river for some fun climbing rocks. When you're ready to head into Sequoia, the park entrance is literally a 2 minute drive up, so you can save up all your driving energy for inside the park! Family owned place with great service!

Room Tip: Possibly closer to the lobby as possible if you're eager to have Wifi in your room. But the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.