We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off - I don't get these great reviews!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a rip off - I don't get these great reviews!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in the eagle cabin and it was $160 +tax. Thankfully they were booked the previous night so we didn't locked in to more money at this place. Maybe Eagle is in worse shape than the others, but the price didn't indicate that. It was very old and shabby, with dirty cushions, very old and worn furniture, aluminum foil on the burners of the tiny stove. The whole thing looked like the inside of a camper from the early 1980's. "Patio" was a small cement slab facing water tanks with plastic chairs. Not too scenic. It also reeked of pinesol or some other cleaner, which got everyone's nose itchy and runny, including my 8-month old baby. Not a restful night. For the price, I'd think they could afford to update a little, or at least replace broken chairs, fix lamps, etc.

We were very disappointed with our experience. Staff and attitude of the place was not too friendly. Not planning to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    86
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
100
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thanks to reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to stay at this hotel. Am I glad I did! To say it is charming is an understatement! Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking the running river. Such a delight to sit on balcony and listen to it with a hot cup of coffee (fresh beans provided) or a glass of wine. We had the added treat of a wren's nest above the light fixture and got to watch mama bringing in bugs to the baby. Then later, sleeping to mountain air and the sound of the river. Very relaxing! Staff friendly and helpful. There's a nice restaurant next door with good food, but a bit pricey...paying for that river view. It's not open for breakfast. For breakfast, go to Three Rivers...about 5 miles back...which is where the gas is too. The hotel is almost at Sequoia's south entrance. The only thing I'd have liked is better lighting...rooms are a little dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting sequoia national park. The lodge is located near the entrance of the park.
We had a king bed in our room. Yes the place looks old but we had a relaxing time here. Sitting in the garden by the river was cool.
They bake fresh muffins for your breakfast basket with include fruits and juice as well. There is also a microwave and fridge in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place was built lone ago, but it is well maintained. Room was cleaned well and the linens were fresh. Internet was usless as was phone reception, so it made for a great time where folks had no idea where we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Though a little on the older side, was in good condition and we had a great view of the river area right from our window. Perfect to sleep to the sound of the river! One downside was the internet. They gave us the code to their wifi but we couldn't connect I'm assuming since we were the furthest room from the main lobby. But we were after all on an outdoor trip so not being connected wasn't the worst thing. The lobby computer was always available for use if needed and all calls from our room to anywhere in the US were free. They also had coffee with a grinder, microwave, and stocked our room everyday with fresh fruits, juice, and homemade MUFFINS. so cute! The lobby staff was also very friendly and it's stocked with movies, games and guide books.
The location as I said was awesome with the nearby river for some fun climbing rocks. When you're ready to head into Sequoia, the park entrance is literally a 2 minute drive up, so you can save up all your driving energy for inside the park! Family owned place with great service!

Room Tip: Possibly closer to the lobby as possible if you're eager to have Wifi in your room. But the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Found this little gem upon deciding we'd rather stay up away from the San Juaquin valley on our trip to Sequoia National Park. They were accommodating with our late check-in and check-out, and friendly. Price was reasonable; room was a bit dated but overall comfy and with a great proximity to and windows for the river! Was quiet and without major issue. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After checking out the horrible options at The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, we walked up the street to Buckeye Tree Lodge and were pleasantly surprised to enter a pleasant lobby, find a welcoming clerk and when we asked about lodging and were told only two large cabins were not reserved, we asked if a discount was possible since there were only two of us.

The clerk called the owner and after a short discussion, we were offered the 'Glacier' cabin and allowed to take the key and go look at it prior to accepting. It was not river view, but all of their cabins are across the street anyway. We went and looked and it was very clean, very pleasant, if a bit worn, (tile, shelves, but nothing major). This was a three room cabin with sleeping of two queen beds and 4 bunk beds, but on a Saturday evening, we were offered a discounted rate of $136+tax instead of the normal $219+tax, which put it on a comparable level to the awful cabin at The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge next door. (actually less money for a much better cabin at BTL).

The Glacier cabin is a great cabin for a group, and was a wonderful stay for us. Kitchen, two baths and three upstairs bedrooms with a deck spanning the two queen bed bedrooms, with chairs and all the expected amenities. We were asked to use only one bathroom since it was just the two of us, but completely understood and it was not a hardship.

We slept well, enjoyed the space downstairs and free WiFi and TV. Tip - Read the helpful tips for the TV in the guest book, sometimes the TV gets set to something other than SAT and doesn't work. You need both controllers to get things to work, but the directions are well written and easy to follow if you have a clue. If not, just call the desk and they will help.

Do wash your dishes! $20 fee if you don't. :-)

Room Tip: The Hummingbird cabin is right next to the pool. Glacier cabin is next door, and both require a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.