We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Older but OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place was built lone ago, but it is well maintained. Room was cleaned well and the linens were fresh. Internet was usless as was phone reception, so it made for a great time where folks had no idea where we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    22
    13
    3
See reviews for
50
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Though a little on the older side, was in good condition and we had a great view of the river area right from our window. Perfect to sleep to the sound of the river! One downside was the internet. They gave us the code to their wifi but we couldn't connect I'm assuming since we were the furthest room from the main lobby. But we were after all on an outdoor trip so not being connected wasn't the worst thing. The lobby computer was always available for use if needed and all calls from our room to anywhere in the US were free. They also had coffee with a grinder, microwave, and stocked our room everyday with fresh fruits, juice, and homemade MUFFINS. so cute! The lobby staff was also very friendly and it's stocked with movies, games and guide books.
The location as I said was awesome with the nearby river for some fun climbing rocks. When you're ready to head into Sequoia, the park entrance is literally a 2 minute drive up, so you can save up all your driving energy for inside the park! Family owned place with great service!

Room Tip: Possibly closer to the lobby as possible if you're eager to have Wifi in your room. But the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Found this little gem upon deciding we'd rather stay up away from the San Juaquin valley on our trip to Sequoia National Park. They were accommodating with our late check-in and check-out, and friendly. Price was reasonable; room was a bit dated but overall comfy and with a great proximity to and windows for the river! Was quiet and without major issue. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After checking out the horrible options at The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, we walked up the street to Buckeye Tree Lodge and were pleasantly surprised to enter a pleasant lobby, find a welcoming clerk and when we asked about lodging and were told only two large cabins were not reserved, we asked if a discount was possible since there were only two of us.

The clerk called the owner and after a short discussion, we were offered the 'Glacier' cabin and allowed to take the key and go look at it prior to accepting. It was not river view, but all of their cabins are across the street anyway. We went and looked and it was very clean, very pleasant, if a bit worn, (tile, shelves, but nothing major). This was a three room cabin with sleeping of two queen beds and 4 bunk beds, but on a Saturday evening, we were offered a discounted rate of $136+tax instead of the normal $219+tax, which put it on a comparable level to the awful cabin at The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge next door. (actually less money for a much better cabin at BTL).

The Glacier cabin is a great cabin for a group, and was a wonderful stay for us. Kitchen, two baths and three upstairs bedrooms with a deck spanning the two queen bed bedrooms, with chairs and all the expected amenities. We were asked to use only one bathroom since it was just the two of us, but completely understood and it was not a hardship.

We slept well, enjoyed the space downstairs and free WiFi and TV. Tip - Read the helpful tips for the TV in the guest book, sometimes the TV gets set to something other than SAT and doesn't work. You need both controllers to get things to work, but the directions are well written and easy to follow if you have a clue. If not, just call the desk and they will help.

Do wash your dishes! $20 fee if you don't. :-)

Room Tip: The Hummingbird cabin is right next to the pool. Glacier cabin is next door, and both require a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first stay at Buckeye Tree Lodge and we selected it because it is close to the park entrance, making it easier to visit our daughter who works at the park. Our room was extremely quiet, even though it was right by Highway 198. It was very comfortable and homey, with a deck that opened to the swimming pool. It included a small refrigerator and a microwave. They also furnished fresh coffee beans and a grinder. Mmmm. Delicious coffee right in our room. There wasn't any sugar and creamer, however. Fortunately we always travel with sugar and creamer so it wasn't a problem. I'm sure the motel would have provided it if we had asked. My husband had forgotten his razor and we were able to get one from the motel. The only drawback was that even though they advertised as having internet, we were unable to access it during our stay. Also there isn't a phone in the room, which for us wasn't too much of a concern. There is a phone nearby, in the parking lot, that anyone can use and call anywhere in the U.S.

It was only a short walk across the highway to the river, where we could watch the ducks. A few people were fishing as well. The Buckeye Tree Lodge is a cozy ,motel in a beautiful setting. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This unusual lodge is nestled in a gorge along the Kiaweah River only about a half mile from the entrance to the park and about three miles above the town of Three Rivers. It has a variety of lodging available, from motel-like rooms right on the river to various size "cabins" across the street perched on the hillside. Their website gives a good description of the accomadations. Our favorite is Columbine because of it's large deck and cute, cozy decor. I think all of the cabins have a kitchen which is very helpful as there is only one restaurant in the immediate area and it is good but a little pricey, AND not open for breakfast. Falcon is another favorite if your group has more than two people. Check it out! It's a wonderful, scenic and friendly place.

Room Tip: Eagle cabin is nice with a private patio and a woodstove but it is dark. The larger cabins that acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Whilst driving around the Sequoia National Park, California, as one does, I discovered the most charming Bed and Breakfast just north of the town of Three Rivers. I received a warm welcome, as the British always get when visiting the United States. I was given a choice of rooms and I chose the ground floor. The room was comfortable, nicely furnished and very clean. Out back was a well planned garden with cooking facilities for a bar-b-que. It was the kind of place where one could rest and reflect on the tree hugging experience in the National Park earlier.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list