We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Option than Gateway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Better Option than Gateway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After checking out the horrible options at The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, we walked up the street to Buckeye Tree Lodge and were pleasantly surprised to enter a pleasant lobby, find a welcoming clerk and when we asked about lodging and were told only two large cabins were not reserved, we asked if a discount was possible since there were only two of us.

The clerk called the owner and after a short discussion, we were offered the 'Glacier' cabin and allowed to take the key and go look at it prior to accepting. It was not river view, but all of their cabins are across the street anyway. We went and looked and it was very clean, very pleasant, if a bit worn, (tile, shelves, but nothing major). This was a three room cabin with sleeping of two queen beds and 4 bunk beds, but on a Saturday evening, we were offered a discounted rate of $136+tax instead of the normal $219+tax, which put it on a comparable level to the awful cabin at The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge next door. (actually less money for a much better cabin at BTL).

The Glacier cabin is a great cabin for a group, and was a wonderful stay for us. Kitchen, two baths and three upstairs bedrooms with a deck spanning the two queen bed bedrooms, with chairs and all the expected amenities. We were asked to use only one bathroom since it was just the two of us, but completely understood and it was not a hardship.

We slept well, enjoyed the space downstairs and free WiFi and TV. Tip - Read the helpful tips for the TV in the guest book, sometimes the TV gets set to something other than SAT and doesn't work. You need both controllers to get things to work, but the directions are well written and easy to follow if you have a clue. If not, just call the desk and they will help.

Do wash your dishes! $20 fee if you don't. :-)

Room Tip: The Hummingbird cabin is right next to the pool. Glacier cabin is next door, and both require a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
50
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first stay at Buckeye Tree Lodge and we selected it because it is close to the park entrance, making it easier to visit our daughter who works at the park. Our room was extremely quiet, even though it was right by Highway 198. It was very comfortable and homey, with a deck that opened to the swimming pool. It included a small refrigerator and a microwave. They also furnished fresh coffee beans and a grinder. Mmmm. Delicious coffee right in our room. There wasn't any sugar and creamer, however. Fortunately we always travel with sugar and creamer so it wasn't a problem. I'm sure the motel would have provided it if we had asked. My husband had forgotten his razor and we were able to get one from the motel. The only drawback was that even though they advertised as having internet, we were unable to access it during our stay. Also there isn't a phone in the room, which for us wasn't too much of a concern. There is a phone nearby, in the parking lot, that anyone can use and call anywhere in the U.S.

It was only a short walk across the highway to the river, where we could watch the ducks. A few people were fishing as well. The Buckeye Tree Lodge is a cozy ,motel in a beautiful setting. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This unusual lodge is nestled in a gorge along the Kiaweah River only about a half mile from the entrance to the park and about three miles above the town of Three Rivers. It has a variety of lodging available, from motel-like rooms right on the river to various size "cabins" across the street perched on the hillside. Their website gives a good description of the accomadations. Our favorite is Columbine because of it's large deck and cute, cozy decor. I think all of the cabins have a kitchen which is very helpful as there is only one restaurant in the immediate area and it is good but a little pricey, AND not open for breakfast. Falcon is another favorite if your group has more than two people. Check it out! It's a wonderful, scenic and friendly place.

Room Tip: Eagle cabin is nice with a private patio and a woodstove but it is dark. The larger cabins that acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Whilst driving around the Sequoia National Park, California, as one does, I discovered the most charming Bed and Breakfast just north of the town of Three Rivers. I received a warm welcome, as the British always get when visiting the United States. I was given a choice of rooms and I chose the ground floor. The room was comfortable, nicely furnished and very clean. Out back was a well planned garden with cooking facilities for a bar-b-que. It was the kind of place where one could rest and reflect on the tree hugging experience in the National Park earlier.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an older, recently refurbished little motel at the door-step of Sequoia National Park. It is clean, generally quiet (some morning road noise) with helpful, friendly staff. One very nice feature is the back door opens to a seating area overlooking the river. While we were there the evenings were mild. Sitting out back near the river, enjoying a glass of wine was a relaxing way to end the day.

Because it is an older property, there is a down-side if you are used to staying in newer hotels. The bathroom is tiny. Counter space is non-existent. The water temperature in the shower can vary wildly if someone else in the motel is showering. If you are not careful keeping the shower curtain completely closed you could easily flood the bathroom.

The Buckeye is not a bed and breakfast however the staff always provided a basket in the room with fresh fruit, a couple cans of fruit juice and some packaged muffins or sweet rolls. We enjoyed the bananas each day. There was a refrigerator in the room, along with coffee beans, a grinder and coffee pot.

There is no where close for breakfast during the week. We were told breakfast was available on weekends at the hotel next door however we were there mid-week so that was not an option. In order to get a cooked breakfast we had to drive six-miles in the direction opposite from the park entrance, back to Three Rivers.

In spite of the drawbacks, we would likely stay here again. The price was good, the place was clean the staff was friendly and helpful, the setting beautiful and we slept well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had left late for our trip and had no real plans for where we would stay, so call finding the Buckeye blind luck! Wonderful little room number 3 downstairs. Warm welcome at front desk with kind and polite explanation of choices.Typical of it's age, pull almost right up to front door via a gravel parking area. Now we open our room and find clean and all the needed items for a relaxing time. Room had a backdoor with screen opening to our own two chair seating overlooking the river cascading over huge boulders. Plenty of paths and directions to hike off towards. But a couple of wine coolers and cold brews and we just sat and watch an abundance of beauty!
Bed provided a great nights sleep and we did enjoy drinks and dinner next door, really good for start of off season and mid week.
Best part of our lodging on trip can't wait to go back! 5 star

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I stayed two nights and wish we could return tomorrow. Lovely service. Perfect location. Excellent hotel location & value. Bathroom is NOT small. Staff very helpful. This is the best place to stay in the area, bar none. River was just outside our room. Staff kept next door room vacant for the first night, which was peaceful & nice. Overall very quiet anyway.... . 10% discount on Gateway Restarant next door not necessary, but helpful& appreciated. Food & service & location& price all excellent. We'd return tomorrow is possible & would not stay anywhere else. Staff first rate. Excellent value, ambiance, and quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list