We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Beautiful views of river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We had an exquisite stay! Great service, friendly staff, pet friendly and great accommodations. Clean and very well kept lodge. Pool was a plus since it was hot in Three Rivers. Close to restaurants and markets. Just outside of Sequoia!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
50
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location on the river. Nice sized room. Used the pool twice had it to ourselves both times. Helpful staff when asked about places to eat. Breakfast basket a little limited two home baked muffins would be better than one. Definitely recommended and is right next to park entrance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in the Eagle Cabin and were very disappointed with the place. The only positive thing I can say about the cabin is that it was clean. It was incredibly old fashioned with really horrible and uncomfortable wicker furniture. The bathroom was absolutely tiny and the whole cabin was really dark and depressing with terrible lighting. Frankly, the entire thing needs an update and a coat of paint - it looks like the last time that was done was 1970. The air-con units were possibly the oldest we have ever seen and they were so noisy that we had to turn the TV up full volume.
There was a nice unfriendly notice that told us if we didn't wash up on our last day, we would be charged. The swimming pool was really dirty and the area surrounding the pool was hideous - the pool furniture was dirty and uncomfortable - the whole thing just looked derelict!
We were not expecting luxury for the price we paid - but this was bad value and we felt ripped off. It's probably worth staying here for one night if you are really tired on the way to the national park, but I would suggest staying inside the park as it takes at least an hour to get to any park "highlights" and there's literally nothing in Three Rivers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I love Sequoia National Park and are avid hikers. We decided to stay at the Buckeye Tree Lodge for a change because it's within a mile to the Park Entrance. We stayed two nights in a cabin room overlooking the Kaweah river flowing over huge boulders. The visuals and sounds were heavenly. The room itself was comfortable, clean with two queen beds and a shared balcony to sit outside. A special treat was a cannister of fresh beans and coffee grinder to make a fresh cup of coffee in the morning. A small basket with muffins, fruits and juice are also provided. What a thrill to see a beautiful black bear in the early morning right below our deck. We enjoyed Buckeye so much that we ended up staying an extra night. The manager and all staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm. 8 overlooking the river. Nice because you can park right outside your room and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place really doesn't have a lot of curb appeal, it's right on the 198 with a large, dusty, gravel, parking lot covering the entire front of the property. I wondered if we had made a mistake when we first pulled in. But the real magic is in the back of the property. Our room had a back door that opened up to a beautiful, shaded, grassy area that was adjacent to an incredibly picturesque stream that cascaded over big boulders forming little pools along the way. They had provided chairs and tables and a couple of charcoal grills in this area for our use.

Our room was sort of an odd shape, long and rather narrow but it was actually quite comfortable. I loved the table and 2 chairs set next to the window. It had a little area with a coffee maker, coffee grinder with a canister of beans, a microwave and a refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was small but clean and the wifi actually worked. The flat-screen TV was hooked to a satellite with hundreds of channels and also to a DVD player. The air conditioner was a little loud but it was a steady sound so we got used to it. Each morning they gave us a breakfast basket which consisted of fresh fruit, fruit juice, a nice muffin and a completely awful packaged danish, which we threw out each day. (management if you're reading this, please get rid of the pre-packaged sweet thingy and put in an extra muffin).

They had a nice pool, which was very welcome as it went up to 100 degrees each afternoon. The motel is located right next to the entrance to Sequoia NP. Please be aware that as of 2012 there is serious road work going on to this entrance road. A long stretch of the road is down to one lane of extremely rough road with a 15mph speed limit. We had to wait about 20 minutes before we could pass through both coming and going. By the looks of it I would guess this will be going on for some time (like years) so check ahead

Finally, the people who run this place are extremely friendly and very helpful. At one point I couldn't get the DVD player to work and the nice, young, woman at the front desk came to my room and got it working for me. I was also pulling a trailer and they let me park it in their driveway while we stayed there. I would definitely stay here again but probably would do it in the spring or fall when it isn't quite so hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRV3R, Owner at Buckeye Tree Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments and helpful feedback regarding the Buckeye Tree Lodge. We do read all of our customers' comments and appreciate that many of our guests take the time to help other potential guests as well as us as property owners to advise what you like - or what could be improved - at the Buckeye Tree Lodge. With respect to our breakfast baskets, I personally try to find fresh, often organic local fruit when it is available and of high quality. We bake our muffins from scratch in the kitchen in our office and we try to encourage any guest that has a special request - such as an extra muffin and no danish - to just let us know. We are happy to customize breakfast baskets to our guests' desires so please let us know your preferences on your next stay and we will be happy to oblige.

Sincerely,

Dennis R. Villavicencio
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodge in Three Rivers, CA, in Aug. of 1999. II know that's a long time ago. but our experience was so awesome, we've never forgotten how wonderful everyone was to us. I took ill on the last day of our stay there. The people of the Buckeye was so concerned, they got in touch with there family doctor, got me set up with an appointment and arranged that we didn't have to move from our room. Even though I had gotten sick, I had a wonderful enjoyable memory of this wonderful establishment and the people in it. It's located right at the entrance to Sequia Nat'l Park...you couldn't get any closer. The Hostess, Manager and all the employees at Buckeye are so friendly and helpful...they feel like family. And that is why we've made our reservations to go back in May 2013. I wouldn't stay any place else.
always,
Barbara & Lawrence Lynchard

Room Tip: I like the lower floor...you have a front door and a back door that opens to a patio and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the second time staying at the Buckeye Tree Lodge, and I again really enjoyed it. I think the location alone makes this my favorite place to stay, being right next to the river, but it is also pet friendly and comfortable. It isn't a big fancy hotel but I think I like that about it as well. The sound of the river constantly rolling over boulders is very relaxing and probably because of that I never heard any of the neighbors even though the place was full. They also have a nice outdoor pool. We didn't get in, but it looked fantastic. We also got a little fruit basket with juice for breakfast, and the wifi worked with no problems.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the room on the lower level better than the upper level because there is more outdoor pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRV3R, Owner at Buckeye Tree Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and your continued patronage. We have many guests like you that come and stay with us again and again and that is the best compliment we can have. We are not a big fancy chain hotel but a small family run hotel that really cares about its guests. We look forward to your next visit and will continue to try to make the Buckeye Tree Lodge a special experience for you.

Sincerely,

Dennis R. Villavicencio
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list