We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING location yet unremarkable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING location yet unremarkable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is as close to Sequoia National Park as you can get without actually being inside the park, that alone is a great reason to stay here. The rooms are modest yet clean and while the bed wasn't very comfortable it made up for it with the lovely view and setting. If you don't expect too much at this location you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    86
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
100
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We just returned from 2 nights along the Kawaeh River, at the south entrance of Sequoia National Park, CA. We stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodgei in Three Rivers, known for its friendly people, jazz festival and good food. The proprietors and office staff made us feel at home & gave us excellent care. It is reasonably priced and includes free WiFi, long distance calls in the U.S., and a breakfast basket...with coffee beans you grind yourself! We forgot an item in our room. There was a message on our voice mail before we got home offering arrangements to get it back to us. Don't miss staying at the Buckeye Tree Lodge!

Room Tip: We went with another couple and stayed in rooms 8 & 10. Both rooms are upstairs, but on street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you're looking for a luxurious spa hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a cute, comfortable place to stay while visiting the beautiful Sequoia & Kings National Parks, it's spot on!

We did a last minute trip to the parks, and were happy that this place was able to accommodate both us and our pup - the breakfast basket even had a dog biscuit in it! The woman we booked with was super nice and the location couldn't be beat. We got a ground floor room with a king bed that opened up to a patio overlooking the river. It was quiet and peaceful, and I could spend a lot more time exploring along the river rocks.

The room itself could use some updating - the bed was comfy but the linens were your basic motel quality. The bathroom we got was TINY, with a shower but no tub, and it would have gotten an extra star if there had been amenities like conditioner and lotion - instead there was a dispenser of shampoo and body wash mounted in the shower. This was totally fine for the price we paid, but I had forgotten to bring my own conditioner and lotion - that'll teach me to assume!

There was a cute kitchenette with a mini fridge, coffee beans, a coffee grinder, and a tea setup, but there was no creamer of any kind, which was kind of a bummer.

Anyway - this place was perfect for a quick getaway with our dog, but don't expect a luxury experience. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building - these are the ones that have the great river views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

We liked staying here. The room was great and the location superb. The restaurant next door is very expensive so we went down town and got a take away pizza and ate it in room. Woke up to great views and a lovely breakfast bought the night before from a local store. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a trip to Sequoia NP and couldn't have been more satisfied. The location cannot be beat (unless you are camping inside the park) and the staff is very friendly. This isn't a Sheraton, so don't expect room service, but the bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed: a microwave, coffee, fridge. Every room has a patio type space with chairs & a table that faces the river; plus there's a BBQ and a pool in the common area. I highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Sequoia, and I know I will be back on our next trip out there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very close to the park entrance. Three Rivers itself does not offer much, so bring your favorite foods with you. The room we stayed in was smallish, but served us quite well. The deck facing the river is fabulous. Excellent for birdwatching. Saw a whole family of quail and lots of phainopepla catching insects. In fact, in the evening, it was quite a show in the sky as all the swallows and phainopepla were joined by thousands of dragonflies out hunting. It was quite a show. The pool is great. Just the right temperature, close to our room, and clean. It was quite a good deal for what you get and where it's located.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The room we had, unit 2, was upstairs, quiet, spacious, clean, and fairly private. Upon checking in, we were greeted warmly and felt immediately at home. The room has a microwave and fridge, and they supply a 'breakfast basket' with a muffin and sweet roll (could be healthier options!), fruit, drinks but the coffee beans and the grinder in the room was a nice touch, except I worried about waking up other guests when I ground it at 6am!
The pool looked inviting and clean, the grounds have a lovely river right behind it, so that was cool! We left our windows open at night and slept to the roar of the river.
We didn't watch TV but there was one in the room. They had games available to borrow from the office so we did that instead. I saw that in the office they also had movies and books to loan. Overall I would say this was the nicest place in the area and definitely had the nicest people! We would stay again if we were in the area. (But if you are hiking in Sequoia like we were, be aware that there's a major elevation change from the hotel to the hiking areas!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.