We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was mid point in an 18 day fly drive tour and picked for convenience for Sequoia National Park. Exceptional location overlooking the river and literally 5 mins from park entrance and lovely staff (thanks Victoria for a wonderful welcome!).
For those who complain, I suggest you research properly - everything is on the website and/or Trip Advisor and nothing came as a surprise to us.
Yes, very rustic and furnishings a bit tired round the edges (my gripe is new curtains would be welcome!) but we're OK with that for a retreat in the Sierra Nevada foothills which blends in with surroundings. We spent 2 nights in the king mini suite and had no issues. You get free internet use in the main office, which was quite slow, but again not surprising given the location.
Spent the evenings on the porch overlooking (and listening to) the river in pitch darkness looking at a crysytal clear sky (including seeing the milky way and shooting stars - very rare where I come from).
We knew there was no restaurant and were prepared to eat out. Not prepared for generally dismal restaurants in Three Rivers. I don't like trawling for somewhere to eat and they are quite spread out here.
Beware veggies - options here are very limited. Gateway Restaurant next door was mega expensive. Pizza Factory was atrocious, just looked in and walked away. Ended up at the Serrano Mexican which was poor, we only ate there once - price OK, but very bland food and irritated by constant flies indoors. The second night we bought stuff at the supermarket and made do with an indoor picnic!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    85
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
52
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Thanks for making our last stop on our whirlwind tour of San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Yosemite and Sequoia a great one. We really enjoyed your lodge, the pool right outside the Hummingbird and was awesome for me and my 2 boys. They thought we had our own special pool! :-) It was absolutely fantastic and having the popcorn, coffe and the coffee filters in the room and the other amenities and fabulous shower was also great.

Thanks again and when I come back to visit Sequoia I will be sure to book with you again and recommend to others!

Room Tip: Look at their site to see the lodges locations and room types available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Pros: amazing views of the river from every room, rooms are large and comfortable, closest motel to the Sequoia park entrance. Cons: bathrooms could use updating, breakfast is little more than wrapped Danish or muffin and boxed juice.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

stayed here one night in the eagle cabin and enjoyed it very much, the one bedroom cabin had a day bed and trundle bed for extra guests, as well as cooking utensils, coffee maker and fresh ground coffee, full kitchen, and stand alone fireplace. young lady at office was friendly and helpful. cabin also had a rear deck with table/chairs, and a barbecue grill. very rustic but comfortable. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Buckeye in June 2011. We had Columbine Cottage. The room was clean but old furniture. The kitchen didn't have any baking pans and the grill was not propane. When I asked at the office, they said they can sell me charcoal, or give me foil to cook in the oven. The cottage was supposed to have a view of the river and if you stood on the porch there was one spot that you can see the river. There was a sign in the kitchen offering to do any dishes we left dirty for a $20 fee. The location was close to the park, but I am not sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at Buckeye Tree Lodge for couple of night. We were pleasantly surprised with the location of the lodge and room accommodation. All rooms are facing the river which is big plus. We stayed in room 9 and had a great view of the nature at its finest. The breakfast basket was great. It was loaded with fruit juices, muffins, danish and fresh fruits. The kitchenette was a huge plus as you can prepare your own meals just the way you want them. The room has decent size fridge. There are BBQ grills available on the property. You can buy coal from the reception desk. There is a restaurant "The Gateway" at walking distance from the lodge. We enjoyed our breakfast on the porch - watching birds and listening to the soothing sound of the running river. Sequoia National Park is just 1/4 mile from the lodge. Overall a great place. A perfect weekend getaway. We would surely visit again. The only down side was that the carpet had stain marks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and enjoyed it completely. Our room (queen bed) was extremely clean and had a screen door that opened to a patio overlooking the roaring river. We just sat on the patio and relaxed Saturday afternoon which was really nice after a day of touring Sequoia National Park. The park is literally less than a mile up the road. The lodge also gave us a breakfast basket which had a piece of fruit and homemade muffin or packaged danish and can of juice for each of us. They also are pet friendly allowing up to 3 dogs in the room ($10/dog/night) and left dog biscuits for our pups with the breakfast basket. We also ended up arriving late on Friday evening after the office closed but the owner was kind enough to come out to make sure we got our key to the room for the night. Then we officially checked in, in the morning. No complaints what so ever. It was a perfect weekend getaway. I would avoid the restaurant next door however. They were pricey, sub par food, low grade service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.