We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Save Saved
You added Buckeye Tree Lodge to your Saves list
46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
GreenLeadersGold level
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and enjoyed it completely. Our room (queen bed) was extremely clean and had a screen door that opened to a patio overlooking the roaring river. We just sat on the patio and relaxed Saturday afternoon which was really nice after a day of touring Sequoia National Park. The park is literally less than a mile up the road. The lodge also gave us a breakfast basket which had a piece of fruit and homemade muffin or packaged danish and can of juice for each of us. They also are pet friendly allowing up to 3 dogs in the room ($10/dog/night) and left dog biscuits for our pups with the breakfast basket. We also ended up arriving late on Friday evening after the office closed but the owner was kind enough to come out to make sure we got our key to the room for the night. Then we officially checked in, in the morning. No complaints what so ever. It was a perfect weekend getaway. I would avoid the restaurant next door however. They were pricey, sub par food, low grade service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    85
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
52
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I had a business visit in Bakersfield so my wife and I decided to visit Sequoia for one night and to see snow since it was right after Christmas. We decided on this lodge because it was one of the cheaper ones but had a much better location than the comfort inn or some of the others. The other reviewers are right when they say this is the closest you're going to get to the park. After this lodge there's only trees and grass between you and the admission booth.

While we were there we wanted to switch rooms for a personal reason. The staff there was more than willing and the owner, Dennis, even came over to make sure we were alright. They were both incredibly friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area.

We noticed that every room has a balcony view of the river. It was great waking up in the morning and having breakfast while sitting outside and watching the water go by. The rooms are clean and cozy and since we were so far up the mountain we never heard a car go by the whole night. It's definitely not Aspen, but it's not a cheap motel either. There's no plasma TVs, but I don't know why you'd drive all the way to Sequoia to watch TV. It was a perfect place for my wife and I to relax, talk, and unwind.

One advice is if you're going in the winter and need to rent/buy tire chains, then get them on your way up. The closest place, Totem, is a RIP-OFF near a $100/day for a rental. Just stop by the Chevron on your way up. $40 for two-days and $20 each day after that.

It was a great trip and I would definitely go here again next time I'm in Sequoia.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

The locale and view were lovely, and the basket of rolls was nice, but our room was so tiny we could hardly move in it. There was no clothes closet or dresser - only a 24" rod stretched along one wall. It was deadly winter when we arrived so our coats alone took up the one rod.. There was nowhere to put shoes/boots. Water pressure was lacking. The TV was broken. The owners are nice; "hotel" is next to an expensive food establishment and far from the economical restaurants. If you are the LIGHTEST packer and not a clothes-horse like my son, daughter and I am, it would be an okay place. Rate was $99/night and the room we had was worth about $25/night (shelter only).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 263 cities Reviews in 263 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is a dog-friendly group of cabins just outside Sequoia National Park. Our cabin had two rom, a complete kitchen, comfortable bed, and a quite beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We had reserved an upstairs room with a king size bed over the phone. The room looked OK, but it had two connecting doors, one of which turned out immediately to be a problem when a loud couple moved in next to us. We asked to change rooms and were moved into another building with two queen beds which did not leave a lot of room. We had a hard time pulling the curtains shut, a different mounting is needed. The carpet looked dirty. There were not enough lights, the TV was old, the fridge was fine. The shower was great, the towels rather thin. The phone with free long distance calls came in handy as cell phones don't seem to get a signal. The food basket was not great, but we had our own food.
The Property itself is nice. All rooms have balconies or patios facing the river and the views are great. We watched a bear come down to the river. And once our neighbors stopped bragging loudly outside to each other, we could enjoy listening to the river.
Everyone from the staff we dealt with was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Incredible what they get away with as the last stop before the National Park. Ants, crickets, broken lights & coffee maker, clogged drains, no TV/video. We have seen worse only in cheap "fleabags" where you just need an emergency place to flop -- not in a self-described $150/day luxury class lodge. The management completely misrepresented the quality of this place, and were evasive and unresponsive - rude even -- regarding our concerns after arriving and following up. Have never felt the need to write a review like this until now. Buyer beware. In retrospect, they acted like they think they've got you with the location -- a long way north through to park to other options -- and ultimately behaved like they just want your money. There are in fact other, better, cheaper options within a few miles back down the road. We suggest travelers use them -- we will! If not, be sure to use a good credit card and be highly dubious of any representations they make by phone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I feel compelled to add my review after having read a very negative review of the property and its ownership and staff. My family has enjoyed the pleasure of staying here on three different occasions. Once in the summer, once in the fall and once in the winter. We enjoyed the lodge and its surroundings so much that we wanted to see it and partake of it during different seasons. Where else could my kids get their first taste of six feet deep, and I mean SIX FEET DEEP, snow drifts less than 4 hours from our home. Our room, we always get the same one, is always satisfactory and to our standard. This is not the Hyatt Regency and it is not presented as such. This is a lodge on the doorstep of Sequoia National Park. It is all we expected it to be and more. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The first time we came up, we brought leftovers from an Italian restaurant but had no silverware to eat it with. I went do to the office and they provided silverware for us, at no charge. All they expected was that it be returned for others to use. Sounds fair to me. Our rooms we cleaned in typical hotel fashion and the breakfast basket kept the my boys, ages 10 & 12, at bay until we were all up and ready to start the day. We enjoyed the use of their backyard grills during our last visit and cooking and eating the steaks purchased at the local market was extra special being cooked next to a moving river and out in the wild as opposed to grilling it at home by the moving traffic and our patio door. I am currently trying to get a reservations to return during the Thanksgiving holiday. This place is the first place that comes to mind when I want a quick getaway from Southern Califronia living. I sincerely and happily recommend the Buckeye Tree Lodge to everyone. Just don't fill it up when we want to go.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, AC and free local and long distance calling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.