We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with clean rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Sequoia Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sequoia Village Inn
45971 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location with clean rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Alta cabin. This is the last hotel before the park entrance and very nice for the money. While dated, the location is great, the staff is nice and helpful and the rooms were clean. If the owners would choose to update the cabins I am certain they could justify charging much higher rates. We were very happy with the experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked one night in the Hummingbird Cottage prior to entering Sequoia Nat'l Park. This cottage is pretty small, but it more than met our needs for one night. We were at the end of a row of cottages with a large deck overlooking the pool. The deck has a charcoal BBQ and great lounge chairs. Inside the cabin is a microwave oven, refrigerator, dishes & utensils, coffemaker & coffee grinder (they provide really good coffee beans). We found the queen-sized bed a bit soft, but that's personal preference. The bathroom is spacious, with a large walk-in shower. The staff is helpful & friendly. The setting is great with the Kaweah River running in the background. There is a road that runs next to the inn, but traffic stopped at dark, so there was no road noise during the night. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights. Originally I had booked Saturday and Sunday but last minute we had to change to Friday Saturday because of a job. Unfortunately that meant we had to stay in two different cottages rather the same one both nights. We started in Aspen and moved to Alta, they are right next to each other in the same little building.
The pluses of the little room are the big deck, very comfortable bed, nice sounds of the river at night, has microwave and minifrige. The downside, the coffee pot did not work well, the shower temp was either super hot or super cold. Not too many complaints and I was content with most things. It's nice that they give you plates, utensils and glasses including a wine opener.

Alta was wonderful with a full kitchen, living room with couch and tv, bathroom with tub and two double beds! The kitchen is a little old with only electric stove but it was just nice to be able to cook. However, the couple of things the kitchen ware items were missing we're a baking sheet and baking dish. We made our biscuits in an oven safe pan as well as the roasted celery root.
This was a nice place to relax and was very convenient for going into the national park, I wish we could have stayed longer. This place is great for families and for people who travel with pets.
One warning is that there is absolutely no cell service here! They do offer pretty fast free wifi and there is one free LAN line for all guests to call nationwide in the center of the property.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We booked two nights at Aspen, the smallest of the rooms available. We were warmly received on arrival, and were more than satisfied with the quality of our accommodation; clean, well appointed for two people, evening entertainment in the form of board games and dvds, and with access to the broad balcony overlooking the full flow of the Kaweah River. Best of all, perhaps, was the excellent location, just a couple of minutes drive from the entrance to the National Park, and likewise well positioned for the restaurants and convenience stores in Three Rivers (Antoinette's Coffee shop comes well recommended). Such was our satisfaction that we chose to stay an additional night. In sum, a very pleasant place to stay and heartily recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I feel mean writing this review because the staff were lovely but our overall experience was not good.

The pros - although we arrived late, about 8.15pm, we were welcomed warmly. We were advised about the construction on the road into the Park (vehicles were only allowed through on the hour so you had to time your drive well) and were told about an excellent tour that would allow us to see the main sights without using our own car. It sounded good and the member of staff rang and organised it on the spot for us.

The kitchen was well equipped and had fresh coffee beans and a filter machine.

We could hear the river at night, which was a lovely sound.

The cons - we stayed in Blossom, a one bedroom cabin for two people. Although the heater had been turned on in advance, the whole cabin was very cold. The heater blew out hot air incredibly loudly so it was a choice of cold or noise. It worked effectively in the bedroom, but the heat never quite made it to the bathroom and kitchen. Morning showers were brisk.

The bathroom was clean but the bedroom/sitting room was very dusty. I pulled up the Venetian blinds to see the view properly and found huge cobwebs and thick dust (which we cleaned). The decor was as expected and quite charming and old-fashioned, but ornaments difficult to clean, like a basket of dried flowers, should either be dusted or discarded.

Outside there was a little terrace with well used and not very clean table, chairs and BBQ. I had pictured sitting there with a glass of wine (it was warm during the day) but the terrace was immediately next to the car park, so not scenic and very public. A family in a cabin nearby with a balcony had a super view and enjoyed their meals outdoors so this is just a criticism of Blossom rather than a general one.

It was important for us to have wifi - and another reason for booking here - but the advertised service was woeful. We had to keep going to the office to get it reset as it regularly stopped working.

During a fortnight's holiday this was one of the more expensive places we stayed, at $112 a night. We'd booked it for its charm and location but after staying in a number of places in two other National Parks, we reckoned it was the least comfortable and worst value for money of them all.

Room Tip: Go for a cabin with a balcony for privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The inn is a series of cabins and chalets tastefully arranged with beautiful views of trees and mountains. They're located about 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. The beautiful and serene Kaweah River is steps away, so you can hear it from your balcony. My friends and I stayed at the Falcon and we truly loved it. The kitchen is large with cooking appliances and a medium size refrigerator. You can also barbecue outside. The view from the balcony is magnificent. Our only regret is the fact that we didn't stay longer.

Pros: A very beautiful and peaceful experience overall. Close to the park entrance.

Cons: I really can't think of anything negative to point out other than your mobile signal won't reach there, but internet access is available and a public phone is also available in the parking lot.

Advice: Stay at least a couple of nights. Enjoy the river, but be weary of swimming in it due to strong currents. Go to the restaurant across the street for drinks and asked to be sit in the balcony so you can enjoy the river view.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and our engaged Welsh friends during the Sequoia National Park leg of our road trip. So pleasantly surprised. The Inn is actually a series of cottages offering various styles of accommodations, so we stayed in the Forest Lodge, which is actually the first floor of a two story cabin. The Forest Lodge was a two bedroom, one bath cottage with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room complete with a fireplace.

When we drove up to the cottage we were impressed with how homey and cozy it was. And cozy not meaning small in this sense, but comfortable and unpretentious. There was a gas grill just outside and a nice place with chairs and a table to eat alfresco if you want to. The location was perfect, as we were across the road from the river, and there was a pool a few yards down a side path.

We drove a few minutes back down the road to pick up some food to grill at the town grocery store (Village Market?) and dined on steak and chicken by candlelight outside in the balmy summer night. We slept well and woke up not wanting to really leave.

If you are looking for an affordable place to stay near Sequoia, someplace comfortable yet rustic and beautiful, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The Forest Chalet is right off the parking lot, has a full kitchen and it's own gas grill outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Village Inn

Also Known As:
Sequoia Village Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Village Hotel
Address: 45971 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sequoia Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.