We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff was lovely and that was the only thing about this hotel that was. The hotel desperately needs paint. The Wifi didn't work. The indo were not open however a few mosquitos managed to get in the room which didn't make for a great night's .

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    50
    38
    26
See reviews for
64
93
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose the hotel because it is very near the Sequoia National Forest. Both the young gentleman at check-in and the lady at the desk during the free continental breakfast were very friendly. The hotel rooms could use updating, but it was clean.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had to use spiral stairways to get to our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is not much, but I believe it is average among other hotels in that area. It could be better, if to clean corners a little bit more carefully. Also the Air Condition machine is challenging - it is quite noisy. If the machine is on, you are not in , and vice versa.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place has not been upgraded to current standards. The shower is a mere trickle and the hotel offers a 500 ml bottle of water per person per day as the water pipes are ancient with stained water coming out of the faucet. Make sure to bring plenty of water as the hotel is stingy on providing more water. Old wall mounted noisy AC unit.
The place is close to the Sequoia NP entrance but bare in mind that the drive to Kings Canyon, Grant Grove is at least 2.5 hours because of the winding road. Better get a hotel in Fresno when visiting Kings Canyon NP.
Oh and the wifi is crappy and unpredictable. Not great for international travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards better than the ones along the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we reserved our room weeks in advance, showed up late (12am) to find cobwebs all around ceiling, wad of hair in drain of tub and around rim, and dirt smudges around bathroom; and a 1/8" thick coating of dust on window shades and some surfaces.

Asked manager who said he hadn't seen the room before checking us in to take a look for himself--as if out of a SNL skit (Bag O Glass), he said all this stuff was normal/nothing to be bothered about and "little stuff," Then, he SWORE in front of my kids and laughed as he asked me if we wanted to leave (at midnight on a sunday in Three Rivers!). After convincing him not to throw my kids and us out in the middle of the night when there no other sleeping alternative, we endured an infestation of beetles and some unidentified biting bugs.

Bad businessman, bad hotel, unclean and unfriendly. I travel extensively and have stayed in 1 star and 5 stars, and never have encountered a place as bad as this.

I talked to another guest when leaving the next morning and they said they had to put up with an unclean room too.

No matter what the cost, find another option when visiting Sequoia.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

This appears to be a former location of national chain...part of the logo is still on the sign. The carpet was dirty, the bath fan didn't work and the whole bath was very worn and stained. And the windows hadn't been cleaned in...forever.

We let housekeeping make up the room two of our three days there but they only changed the towels and made the bed. We watched dust pile up (yes I mean pile) on the night stand.

The only reason I give a "2" is because the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Toilet had urine stains, bed sheets were dirty, shower floor was dirty too, cleaner left dirty towels in the shower - don't do this to yourself, this place is atrocious.

We ended up not accepting the room, asked for a full refund, and went somewhere else.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
16.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
12.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
3.6 mi away
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.