We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the worst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has been one of the worst i have seen during my trip through the us.

The blanket smelled horrible and had an ugly white stain, which I hope was toothpaste, the bathroom was very dirty, too.

On top, the staff was kind of unfriendly in my opinion.
The breakfast was free, but they provided only some cinnamon rolls and doughnuts and orange juice. nothing for kids of people that try to eat healthy. but it was free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    44
    28
    19
See reviews for
58
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in mid November. Rates were very cheap. Room were unique, with painted cinder block walls, and slanted wood ceilings. But they were clean and the accommodations were as described. My girlfriend and I like slightly quirky places like this, so we thought this hotel was a great stay. They staff were all very friendly. The showers weren't great, but they got the job done. It's very close to the sequoia national park as well, which is why we were in the area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My colleague and I stopped off here during a book tour ('Climate change and global policy regimes: towards institutional legitimacy' - thrilling title, eh?). As a researcher in forest policy and management, getting to see General Sherman et al was a lifetime ambition. Shame about the 'fiscal cliff' as most ranger stations were shut, but the trees, if not the forest (over-trampled) were impressive. Sierra lodge was cheap, cute and chintzy, the room 1980s decor, with the inevitable 'deer about to be shot' picture on the wall, plus ancient TV and fridge. Great! Breakfast was pretty basic (not good for gluten intolerants). Highly recommended if you're not fussy and are looking for an American motel experience, next to stunning scenery. Good value for money in my opinion.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the down side, not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We booked this motel thru a site that requires payment first and then reveals the name of the hotel. The low price provided a clean room with a simple oatmeal/coffee/pastry/juice breakfast;free fast internet and cable tv;and free parking. We stayed two days and our room was cleaned with fresh towels , etc. on the second day. We had a great stay because it was closest to Sequoia National Park.
I read the complaint reviews and I think if a room is dirty, you should complain at the front desk first! If you expect a motel in remote areas to be like chain motels, then you should pay more and stay in a chain....there is at least one in Three Rivers. If you think the rooms were old, you have probably never stayed in a "reasonably priced"hotel in a European city. Travel is an adventure, and I think Sierra Lodge was part of ours.

Room Tip: Walk up Moro Rock in Sequoia National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

On a family trip to Sequoia National Park (10/25/2014), we stayed at this hotel for one night.

We opted for VIP accommodations ($229/night) which was advertised as including 2 bedrooms, wifi, free breakfast, cable etc.

What we got:
1) filthy smelly room - everything from the carpet to the restroom seemed to have not been cleaned in days.
2) WIFI did not work, a tiny 22" flat panel tv on top of a coffe table
3) A triangular-shaped room layout as bedroom-restroom-bedroom separated by paper thin wooden panels. Broken sliding wooden doors.
4) All of the furniture seemed to have been procured at a cheap flea market. Old and stinky.
5) The beds in the bedrooms were old and very uncomfortable. For hygienic reasons, we used our own blankets.
6) Power and running water were out by midnight. We were told the next morning that they had experienced a power outage. The outage had been scheduled for at least a month, and we were not advised.
7) I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: skip this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed here for a night. Room looked old but was clean. Bathroom with slight drainage problem. Thought the room included a microwave as seen in photo on the internet, but it wasn't when we checked-in. Eventually, we had to pay an extra $10 for the use of microwave in the room. Breakfast was very simple which was set up in the lobby.
Pros: Closeness to Sequoia, parking, free wifi although slow
Cons: extra charge for microwave, very noisy (room facing the main road)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This place gets the one point purely because it is close to Sequoia.
I can see why the place charges in full on booking and no refund ... if we hadn't pre-paid we would have left.
It is dirty, old and neglected.
The glass in the "patio" doors was filthy. The room was very tired, the furniture came out of the ark, it was dusty, cobwebs, the bed cover was very old and worn, the furniture was dirty and worn out, old TV, grubby bathroom, dirty coffee maker.
The first page in the "welcome" folder was a list of charges that would be made for each item you may feel like stealing ... so the welcome is to call guests thieves.
No hair dryer ... could borrow one from reception, but bad luck if you want it after 7.30pm or before 9am as no-ne there then.
A/C was ancient, noisy and too close to the bed, (it could be operated while lying down) impossible to sleep next to.
The pool area and furniture needed a good scrub.
We had the room for 2 nights but it was not cleaned for second night, so bed was not made, towels not changed, bathroom not wiped over or rubbish removed ... so we had an ant invasion.
Breakfast was pathetic ... weak, luke warm coffee, slices of orange and a pastry.
I will say the sheets and towels were clean though.

Only redeeming point is it's closeness to the Sequoia National Park.

It is at best a 2 star and definitely over-priced. Could be nice with a bit of time and money invested ... shame.

Room Tip: don't know if any rooms are better ... our rooms (facing the pool) and our neighbours were horri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.