We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is a good starting point for any trip to the Sequoia National Park.
The rooms are clean, although a bit old.
Breakfast is no more than decent, but it works.
Considering what you get the price is a bit too high.
Not bad but there would be much to improve.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    40
    26
    17
See reviews for
53
72
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel makes a nice change from the faceless chain motels of similar price. Helpful staff, pool with great views (including deer on hillside), nearby restaurants and really close to Sequoia, all make it a great stop if visiting the park. Family of 4.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say, you get what you pay for! This hotel is a definition of 'OK'. Its nothing special but its close to the Park entrance. The room was v.small for 4 and the decor was dated. Breakfast was the same, very basic and 'OK' Nearby was a few shops and restaurants, and we had a lovely meal at night. Check in was fine and the lady was great with us; however, when I went back later, I witnessed a different lady being quite rude to someone checking in (and subsequently checking out!) I heard the entire conversation, and I don't think the rudeness was warranted.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been in this sleazy hotel in July 2014 and we had pre-paid our stay at booking. Otherwise we would have turned and slept elsewhere, it could not have been worse.
The only acceptable thing was the short distance to Sequoia National Park in about 50 min. by car. Our room (we had "S1") was equpiied with a small flat screen TV (who needs that?), an extremely loud and dirty air condition of the 70's, a greasy kitchenet of the 50's, a single refrigerator next to which was the whole filth of the last years. The queen size double bed has had its best times at least three decades ago, be careful to not be rolled into the middle. The "bathroom" was equally old, e.g. the sink faucet was half dilapidated and a wiping cloth probably never has found its way behind it. The cobwebs in the sleeping room around the window could really have been removed at each cleaning and the air condition in the living room despite its noise was not able to cool the sleeping room. The so called breakfast consisted of a few cookies and some older slices of orange - unacceptable. Service was just friendly enough to avoid the word "hostile", perhaps they have been stressed by the few guests.
This accomodation really is not recommendable. Instead of staying here, one should stay in the city Visalia: half an hour more to the National Park, but such a flophouse cannot exist when there is competiton. Oh, there is one positive thing: Wifi worked, directly next to the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms in every other hotel are better! Stay away. Choose Visalia (30 mls away) and accept the 30 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Sierra lodge is a motel with basic self contained accommodation, a few miles from the south entrance to the Sequoia National Park. We were made welcome and staff were friendly and very helpful.
The Lodge offers free - but very slow - internet and water is provided in rooms (and coffee although coffee maker was inappropriate and stained). It serves a simple buffet breakfast at 8am and has nothing more by way of food or bar, but is close enough to other food and drink facilities.
Our bed was not the most comfortable but was clean. Our room was clean but shabby. However we had a balcony with a view of the Sierra foothills which was breathtaking and the countryside location is lovely too.
We were satisfied for what it was.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the mountains - it is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was the noisiest, dirtiest, ugliest hotel I have ever been in!! I did not sleep a single minute both nights because the road was two feet away from my room and there were cars passing all through the night! The room was extremely hot which made everything worse... And it was extremely overpriced! Never. Again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I made the mistake of disregarding some of the reviews here. Generally, when people say worn, dated, needs updating, we do not have a problem with such places. I should have listened to such reviews with the Sierra Lodge. It was pretty bad.

I was very disappointed with staying at the Sierra Lodge, and am glad that it was only for one night. There was a couch in our room that would be an embarrassment in a wild fraternity house. It had actual wear holes on the cushions (it must be 50 years old - they can't find a used one of of Craigslist isn't better?). My 9 year old son lifted one of the cushions to see if it was a sofa bed (he had been getting those beds for himself on our vacation) and there was chips, crackers, a half eaten sucker, hair bands, and at least a year's worth of crap under the cushions. It had obviously not been cleaned in a long while. Other areas of the room were similarly just dirty.

For over $200 for one of the family suites you are better staying at Wuksachi lodge or finding another lodging. It was way overpriced.

In addition, to travel into some popular parts of Kings Canyon or Sequoia NP from Three Rivers, you must drive through a very very windy portion of the NP road - no reason to do so if comparable lodging such as the Wuksachi lodge is on the other side of this portion of the road.

If important, Sierra Lodge has functional Wifi - the Wuksachi Lodge does not (they say they do- but it is functionally useless). I don't know if better options exist in Three Rivers, but I would strongly suggest you investigate them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.