We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Three Rivers
1 review
“Lovely short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice room, the only thing was the heater in the bathroom didn't work so it got a little chilly getting out of the shower but everything else was just right.
Friendly service, little breakfast included in the morning which wasn't much but the porridge & coffee us up for the day of mountain hiking ahead. Really lovely location with a really nice dinner just a walk away that you can get a very tasty and affordable breakfast/ lunch. Nice stay in a quaint little town full of interesting little shops and lots a nature!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    44
    28
    19
See reviews for
58
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes, it's a bit old-fashioned, shabby and run-down — and the breakfast (instant oatmeal: add your own hot water, and some small Danish) is pretty basic — but it's clean and quiet, the rooms are a decent size, and it's only a couple of miles from the Park entrance, which is why you're there...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

There is not much to Three Rivers! The Sierra Lodge is located on the north edge of town - if there is an edge and around 3 miles from the entrance to the National Park. Hotel is well sign posted. Reception was efficient and friendly. We booked room 2 in the single story block and away from the road, looking out onto the country. Room had a king sized bed, which was very comfortable, a TV (with limited channels), fridge and coffee maker. Room was small and compact, had a table and chairs, drawers for clothes. It also had a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The toilet was compact and between it and the bedroom was a very small room where the coffee maker was. The shower was small but OK. There was no microwave, but you can rent one, and if you need ice you have to go to reception. The A/C is a wall unit and worked rather well!!

The hotel had 6 bbq areas and 2 outdoor deck/seating areas. It also has a pool. Breakfast is in reception and is typical of what you get in motels.

The motel is a bit dated BUT, overall the accommodation was very acceptable. There is no restaurant/pub with in walking distance. Most folk staying there were en-route to the forest. Would I go back - yes!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Overall we were pleased with the hotel. From the outside it did look like a bit dated, and so it was on the inside, but we did not mind. We had driven all day and wanted an early start the next day in Sequoia National Park, so the location was perfect. We traveled in early November, so the price was reasonable and we had a choice of rooms. Ours was in back and looked out on to the stream / trees. The staff were helpful, the room basic but clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Close to Sequoia National Park. This prety much sums up all the advantages of this hotel. Other than that, this hotel is pretty bad. But if you need a place to sleep and spend the whole day in the park, this is not a bad place. "Not bad" as long as you don't mind sleeping in Motel 6.

Parking requires good driving skills, there is less space than in Manhattan. Bed was comfortable, but pillows were dwarf-sized. Restroom was reasonably clean (with some exceptions). We had issues with A/C (window style) that was very, very loud and blew ice cold air directly at the bed.

Breakfast is served at 8 AM, but don't worry as there is nothing that can be eaten by a health-consious person except orange slices. Even milk is absent.

So I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose this place for its location, that's its major feature and that's how they can charge what they charge for their rooms.
Other than that, it's a really old motel, the rooms are smelly and tired and not very practical. To go to our room we had to go up some spiral staircase which is not pleasant at all when you need to bring some big suitcases to your room. We're in our thirties, so it wasn't much of a problem for us, but I could see how it could be really challenging for some people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The most uninterested office ladies! Cockroaches in suite! Smelt like mold. Maid service doesn't actually put fresh sheets on! The rooms are absolutely filthy. If your looking for a breakfast your choices are tang and nasty pastries. When waiting for a taxi cab back to the airport I asked for water and was told there is some a few miles away! Every morning we stayed they decided it was a good idea to start construction at 9 am pounding the floors above us. Over priced dump! When asked about swimming in the river I was told it was stagnit... IT'S A FLOWING RIVER! She told me to go the park to do so because up there the snow melt is still flowing.... Really?.. We had two rooms with 8 total people one suite but only allowed a 2 towels for the pool unless you bickered at them to grab more for you. Don't stay here there's plenty of other choices nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3riversgirl, front desk at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
These guests were allowed to use private cell phones of the employees, a front desk person got them a private tour of the Sequoia Park with lunch included. When one of the guests got sick it was a front desk person that called and got them in to the local clinic.
A yes they were told that swimming in the river when its low with extended 100 degree temperatures can make people sick because its slow and stagnate in places. We have water bottles for sale if requested and every room is stocked with free water that's replaced every day.
Our hotel has never had cockroaches. Our staff went out of the way for these guests, even one of the housekeepers stayed late to clean their room because they wanted their kid to be able to sleep in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.