We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Broome, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My first impression was that this hotel was in a great location, well-positioned to get to Sequoia National Park. After that, my impressions went down.

Our motel room was very tired looking although it was clean and functional, and adequate for a one night stopover. We had a quiet night's sleep and the bed and bathroom were OK.

Breakfast was really poor. It consisted of packets of cereal (but no milk other than single-serve portions for tea/coffee), sliced orange, and tired looking Danish pastries served on a display cabinet. We went elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    44
    28
    19
See reviews for
58
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased I booked this hotel. So convenient for sequoia park. It takes so long to come through and the last downhill section went on and on. Motel well laid out, good sized rooms. Everything clean and tidy. Comfortable beds. Only observation was that the decor and furnishings/fitments rather dated. That said happy overall and would come back again, though not sure for more than one night. Friendly staff and places to eat locally. Pizza factory good pizzas if a limited atmosphere. A takeaway place really but you can eat in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked 2 nights here on a 17 night US trip, it was not good by any standards and expensive. I paid for a suite but the bedroom had no A/C the kitchen was cramped and my childs 'queen bed' which was what was advertised was a bed settee which we has to make up ourselves. The breakfast was the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. The staff uninterested. I would not recommend it at all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I slept like a baby but my relatives could not sleep because of the noise. I think there are some animals arround and they are very noisy. I love this feature though... my relatives are more city-people. is one hour far from Sequoia Natl. Park, so it is great for one day visit to the park and one-night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A group of five booked the "honey moon house", which was promoted as a two story house which slept 6 people. In fact it is an integral part of a larger building, has no views, is right next to the road, no privacy, is opposite the office. Honey mooners be warned.

The furnishing were average, mixed, rickety, dusty. The art deco kitchen clean, functional, and must have been built in the 70's. the air conditioning could only be adjusted by management: it was set on cold (was too cold) when we arrived, so had it turned off. Later when it was hot, management could not turn it on ! Worst of all the single toilet and shower were in the same room so we spent the entire stay waiting or wondering for it to be available. The breakfast was very basic.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is right outside of Sequoia, and we couldn't get anything in the park. It was horrible. The staff at the front desk were very nice but the room was horrible. I'm usually not picky at all but this was cinder block walls and just bad- for $200 a night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I loved this place. Adorable old skool furnishings. Stayed 3 nights. Very clean and simple. It was over 100 degrees and they did provide us with a fan on top of the air conditioner which saved out sweaty butts. Very close to the park. Will definitely recommend this place and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.