We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the National Park. I have to agree with other reviewers who say the hotel is definitely from the 70s. Absolutely fine though, and quite nice that this unique kind of accommodation is still to be had. Nice and clean, and I would consider staying here again. The pool was ok and we had no complaints about our stay. Perfect location for a visit to the Park. There are fairly limited restaurant options nearby but the hotel staff were able to make a good recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    44
    28
    19
See reviews for
58
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good hotel(motel) close to south entrance to Sequoria park, clean if a little tired. Well welcoming staff, has small pool, no restaurant, close to road might be noisy. Simple but satisfactory breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spacious room with all utilities and facilities. Economical. It is close to Sequoia National Park. The only thing I didn't like was there was not enough drinking water. We have to carry our own water there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

So would you like to travel back in time to say oh, 1970? Then this is the place for you.

The room was very clean, they had also turned on the heater (air conditioner unit) before we got there which was nice as it was about 45 out.

We got the king room with a mountain view, well the view did have a mountain in it, behind the utility pole and electric lines! I attached a picture. The king bed was old but not really uncomfortable. The sheets were not a high quality, but they were clean.

The decor was a throw back in time, from the wallpaper, to the bathroom heater (dont turn it on unless you like the smell of burning hair), to the bedspread and dog bedecked wallpaper in the bathroom. Defintely the old hotel smell was working hard in that room!

Now all this would not bother me if the cost was in line with the accomodations, $88 per night in the off season was high for what we got. I would $40 would be more than ample.

The "breakfast" was coffee and poor quality pastries, and something that looked like orange juice

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are dirty, including bed sheets. Over priced for what you get. We stayed at their family suite. It was falsely advertised as a free standing house with fireplace. Call before you make your reservations. This house was not free standing of course, and no fireplace. Property has so much potential, but those rooms will not allow me to revisit that lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just loved this place. Went there quite late when it was all dark outside already. It was lovely to wake up and see the view, all the mountains and nature.
Room was nice and comfortable.
Breakfast was usual continental but in this place it looked so much better :) to have a coffee with view like this.
Reception staff was really friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The shower worked, had hot water, the conditioner was fine, had a great sleep. You even get breakfast if you want in the lobby. Internet was below average or at least mine was like that, i barely could load tripadviser, it is for free. Close to places for chain rentals.

Room Tip: I booked th. expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.